Come and join our family, spend time with animals, learn new skills and live the beautiful life in the Dordogne, France

Country

France

Favourited 215 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    593

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (Francophone? Super! Voir ci-dessous...)

    Come and stay! We are Jonathan and Linda, a happy, easy-going couple. We live in a breathtakingly beautiful, peaceful, sunny part of the Dordogne with dogs, cats, chickens, miniature pigs and pigmy goats. We're surrounded by birdsong, sunsets, fields of sunflowers, grapevines, woods and wildlife. The medieval village of Issigeac is a cycle ride away...

    We are slowly renovating the house, barns and pigioniére and improving the garden. By the time you are reading this, maybe we will have started building the straw bale house, treehouses or even a spring-fed swimming pool - but all in good time!

    The chickens wander around all day making fresh eggs. The dogs, Bryn, Maerdy and Donkey will entertain you endlessly if only you'll throw the ball! Goaty McGoatface and his many ladies and kids like to get out for a walk. Right now we're working on a fence so they can stay out in the field and eat grass all day. The cats love a fuss. The pigs crave a cherry tomato and a belly rub.

    You would be a positive person who loves animals, and enjoys getting stuck in. We work Monday to Friday from 9.30am. Tasks depend on your skills and what you enjoy. This is Jonathan's 4th renovation and he is happy to share skills. We finished the first Gite (holiday home) last year. When we don't have guests, this is your place.

    We find projects are more fun with a few of us working together. We work hard and then relax with a drink, good food, or in the wood-fired hot tub.

    We love food, we like to share. We often eat together, and sometimes we all do our own thing. We'll take you to the market so you can choose what you enjoy. We eat well and we prefer to eat healthily and ethically.

    Why not drop us a line? We're looking forward to meeting you!



    Francais?

    (SUPER! Nous recherchons particulièrement des francophones! Nous apprenons mais parlons encore trop anglais !!!)

    (Francophone ? Super ! Voir ci-dessous...)

    Venez et restez ! Nous sommes Jonathan et Linda, un couple heureux et facile à vivre. Nous vivons dans une région de la Dordogne d'une beauté à couper le souffle, paisible et ensoleillée, avec des chiens, des chats, des poules, des cochons nains et des chèvres naines. Nous sommes entourés de chants d'oiseaux, de couchers de soleil, de champs de tournesols, de vignes, de bois et d'animaux sauvages. Le village médiéval d'Issigeac est à une promenade à vélo...

    Nous rénovons lentement la maison, les granges et le pigioniére et améliorons le jardin. Au moment où vous lirez ces lignes, nous aurons peut-être commencé à construire la maison en bottes de paille, des cabanes dans les arbres ou même une piscine alimentée par une source - mais tout cela vient à point nommé !

    Les poules se promènent toute la journée pour faire des œufs frais. Les chiens, Bryn, Maerdy et Donkey vous divertiront sans fin si seulement vous leur lancez la balle ! Goaty McGoatface et ses nombreuses dames et enfants aiment se promener. En ce moment, nous travaillons sur une clôture pour qu'ils puissent rester dans le champ et manger de l'herbe toute la journée. Les chats aiment bien qu'on leur fasse des histoires. Les cochons ont envie d'une tomate cerise et d'un frottement de ventre.

    Vous seriez une personne positive, qui aime les animaux et qui aime s'impliquer. Nous travaillons du lundi au vendredi à partir de 9h30. Les tâches dépendent de vos compétences et de ce que vous aimez. C'est la quatrième rénovation de Jonathan et il est heureux de partager ses compétences. Nous avons terminé le premier Gite (maison de vacances) l'année dernière. Quand nous n'avons pas d'invités, c'est votre maison.

    Nous trouvons que les projets sont plus amusants lorsque nous sommes plusieurs à travailler ensemble. Nous travaillons dur, puis nous nous détendons autour d'un verre, d'un bon repas ou dans le jacuzzi chauffé au bois.

    Nous aimons la nourriture, nous aimons partager. Nous mangeons souvent ensemble, et parfois nous faisons chacun notre propre truc. Nous vous emmenons au marché pour que vous puissiez choisir ce que vous aimez. Nous mangeons bien et nous préférons manger de manière saine et éthique.

    Pourquoi ne pas nous envoyer un message ? Nous sommes impatients de vous rencontrer !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn practical renovation skills, learn English, enjoy a wonderful place to live, good company, loving animals, and lots of fun.
    We try to live an organised and ethical life. That means we move things around a lot and label them (!!) but also that we try to re-use and recycle and minimise our plastic use. We try to buy from markets and local shops rather than supermarkets. Raw ingredients make much better meals than plastic-wrapped processed stuff. Linda is a good cook.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We love help with daily things like cooking and cleaning and feeding animals and chopping wood... the dogs love a walk or a ball... But besides those daily things, our projects include just now...

    – Building Chez Chevre - a house for the goats
    - Renovating old buildings for people to come and stay
    - Planning then building a house out of straw bales
    - Planning then building 2 treehouses
    - Designing and building a swimming pool with a view
    - renovating the Grand Barn, learning how to point with lime cement
    - replacing a roof a tree fell on 25 years ago
    - excavating and repairing an old bread oven, buried for many years
    - turning an old loo into a sauna
    - Extending a roof across to make a covered shady terrace
    - gardening, strimming, chopping trees, bringing in fruit in the Autumn
    - planting new things, particularly things we can eat (the garden is a blank canvas!)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We're working hard to learn French and can help with your English. Nous travaillons dur pour apprendre le français et pouvons vous aider avec votre anglais.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are 2 big houses here (one for us, one for you) with barns in 5 acres of open gardens and woodland. You will have your own bedroom.
    The main bedroom has a lovely deep bath and its own toilet.
    There is a separate shower room downstairs, your kitchen and another loo.
    We can lend you a bicycle, and we like to go out for a drink or pizza at the local bar, if you'd like to come.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The little medieval town of Issigeac is stunning. It has 2 small bars and several restaurants and a famous Sunday market. Bergerac is a short distance too. There's a cinema too, in Castillones, with English-speaking films on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The internet is strong, unlimited and reliable. The 4G signal outside is good in places, so you can work under a tree if you like. L'internet est puissant, illimité et fiable. Le signal 4G à l'extérieur est bon par endroits, vous pouvez donc travailler sous un arbre si vous le souhaitez.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can provide electricity and water to your camper and give you a wonderful spot! Nous pouvons fournir de l'électricité et de l'eau à votre campeur et vous offrir un emplacement magnifique !

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It may be possible to bring your pet, providing they get along with everyone else and don't eat chickens. Let's talk! Il est possible d'amener votre animal de compagnie, à condition qu'il s'entende bien avec tout le monde et qu'il ne mange pas de poulets. Parlons-en !

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Monday to Friday from 9.30am, 5 hours a day. du lundi au vendredi à partir de 9h30, 5 heures par jour

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 842633516753