Enjoy Autumn at the seaside and help with renovations in Christchurch, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 452 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    62  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to Christchurch. We are ready to welcome helpers with building skills and experience. Carpenters and joiners and painters. We appreciate every one of our helpers and will do everything we can to make sure you get what you hope for in our exchange.
    Our next step is to lay vinyl, clip together, plank flooring to the next 2 rooms and finish the window and door trims. There is landscaping to do around the house. Also the whole inside of house needs to be painted. So we definitely need helpers with this sort of skill set. Helpers who are happy to work an average of 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Which days and which hours are to suit you. In return enjoy healthy home cooked meals and comfortable, warm accommodation. Together we exchange the wonders of our different cultures, especially in the evenings around our dinner table. Doug is a kiwi Maori and Veronica is a kiwi Dutch.
    Minimum 1 week
    Our home is being renovated after earthquake damage.

    If you would like to come and enjoy our relaxing sea environment, in exchange for being part of a happy working team, please make contact. You can be independent in an outdoor kitchen /bedroom, or you can enjoy your own double bedroom in our main house.
    Across the road is the sea. A beautiful all seasons experience, with gorgeous sunrises and sunsets over the water. You are free to use bikes, kayaks, dinghy, paddleboards, wetsuits, flippers etc. Paddle across the inlet to great surf beach and cafe's. 1 min walk to bus which will take you to city and directly to airport.

    Only suitable for the respectful and honest. No smoking. Unlimited WiFi

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both teachers and very happy to help you with your English. Our home is open to people of all cultures. Having lived in different countries, we enjoy the exchange of cultures.

  • Help

    Help

    Experienced builder/Carpenter/painter helpers especially invited.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Maori: Beginner
    Dutch: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Independent private living in an awesome Cafe style outdoor bedroom kitchen unit. OR your own private bed space in the family home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your off time you can..... Explore the coast on bicycle... 2 hour return hike up to cool cave with magic acoustics and views.... 1 hour up hill hike to local cave set up for rock climbing and bouldering... Paddleboard around estuary.... Kayak out to watch seabirds preparing for migration... Go fishing.... Surf.... Walk 2 mins to local library...5 mins to local pubs/bars right on the beach... .take bike on the bus and explore Christchurch city centre.. ... Indoor rock climbing and bouldering room 10 mins drive... 15 mins bike ride or 10 mins bus to classic picture theatre showing movies in the weekends...and all the entertainment Christchurch city offers is 25 mins bus ride.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Hi, we have unlimited and fast fibre Internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A campervan or caravan can be parked with nice sea view out the rear window. Just a few steps to a toilet, shower and kitchen separate from the main house. the house.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Outdoor pets only.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day x 5 days per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








































Host ref number: 842586333774