Help with DIY and garden projects for an artsy LGBTQ+ friendly home in downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Country

United States

Favourited 105 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1931

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ABOUT ME:
    My name is Emily and I am a 45 year old homeowner in Salt Lake City, Utah and I have happily owned my home for 12 years.

    ABOUT MY HOME:
    The community is an LGBTQ+ friendly, music, dance, and art creative healing space. The house is an artsy, Victorian-style single family home built in 1908. She holds a magical quality in her because of the energy work and unconditional love we have created here over the years. We have 5 people living here presently. This is a dedicated space for doing your inner work on your soul's evolutionary journey.

    WORK:
    1. Weeding, yard work, gardening
    2. Assist in handyman tasks, removing debris from rain gutters, fixing and painting a backyard fence
    3. Miscellaneous projects such as cleaning, cooking, washing dishes, taking out trash, etc.
    4. Sanding and painting a shed and the front porch

    EXPERIENCE:
    I am listing the ideal experience we would love our volunteers to have. But if you don't have these skills already, it's perfectly fine. We will always have an experienced mentor teaching you. More than anything, we are looking for a good worker with motivation and willingness to learn. We want someone who has an attention to detail and who values a good work ethic.

    1. Painting Experience
    2. Sanding Experience
    3.Comfortable using the following tools: impact, drill, skill saw
    4. Can read a tape measure
    5. Landscaping and gardening is a plus but not necessary

    MISCELLANEOUS INFO:

    -You will share a room in our unfinished basement with a male workaway volunteer. We are very honest with our volunteers that this basement space is not for everyone. It's has no windows, and a low ceiling surrounded with cement walls. I personally couldn't live down there! But our volunteers have no complaints because the exchange is that the quality of the people and the love in the house is so worth it.
    -We have one cat living in the house.
    -No smoking (of any kind) will be tolerated. This home is not a good fit for you.
    -There are art workshops, pole dancing, healing sessions, and music gatherings occurring through the week, sometimes late into the night. You may be asked to be flexible to accommodate these events.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be connecting with a community of LGBTQ+ artists, dancers, creators, and musicians.
    We have a pole set up in the living room for pole dancing.
    You will be in one of the most beautiful parts of downtown Salt Lake City.

  • Help

    Help

    Open, honest and reliable communication is very important for this work stay. I am looking for someone who has made a habit in treating everyone they come in contact with like they were the most important person in the whole world.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The two bathrooms, kitchen and living room are shared spaces. As described above, we are upfront with our volunteers that the basement accommodations are not for everyone. We are updating our photos soon so you can have a look. A new volunteer will share the basement space with another male volunteer. The basement is a cement wall storage space being used as a place to sleep. You will be given a mattress.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    2 minute walk: Liberty Park, the largest park in Salt Lake.
    2 minute walk: access to public transit to downtown or a straight bus route to the University of Utah
    10 minute walk: Artsy 9th and 9th area
    20 minute drive: The gorgeous Rocky Mountains

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have solid Google Fiber WiFi

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No more than 3 hours a day, max 5 days a week






Host ref number: 841811231345