Help with dog walking, gardening for vegans and vegetarians in Katoomba, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 652 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    96  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    116

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Home in Katoomba with large garden needs someone who likes gardening to keep it in check! Two large, friendly dogs also need walking twice a day.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hopefully, I will learn from YOU! You'll find me friendly, fair and easy going - you'll have home-cooked meals every day and if you wish, I can take you to see wild kangaroos, UP CLOSE , platypus, echidnas, wombats and wallabies and to nearby vineyards (I do charge petrol money for this but it is an awesome experience). I have fun with my WorkAwayers, we go out together, drink a glass or three of wine together, have movie nights, listen to local, live music and you'll meet some of my friends over a barbecue or a night out. I'll take you to the beautiful wine regions near here and I can drop you at bush walks out of Katoomba too.

  • Help

    Help

    Come and join me, Hattie and Oi

    Help needed with dog walking, gardening, painting, and small maintenance tasks in exchange for accommodation and three healthy meals a day. We are right in the heart of Katoomba. Close to bush walks, galleries and cafés.

    The kind of WorkAwayer I need has some wool on their back, lots of common sense, uses initiative, works intuitively, has the maturity that comes with life experience, loves the outdoors and sees the glass as "half full."

    I have a quarter of an acre of gardens growing native plants, ferns and food using permaculture. I often work in the city so I don't have a lot of time for gardening.

    I would LOVE someone with landscaping and horticultural skills, but just a love of gardening and skills in general gardening would be fine. There's quite a bit of weeding which requires attention to detail and possibly some harder work spreading mulch. There are also a few handyman-type projects I need help with too and if you have carpentry skills, that would be awesome.

    Your day will start with walking the dogs, feeding the dogs, grooming them before gardening or anything else that needs doing. Watering the large garden is a daily task as well and is done early in the day. Your day will end with walking the dogs in the evening and again giving them their evening meal. You will also take them for their weekly spa bath every Monday. Picking up after them in the garden is one of the less desirable chores but this needs to be done every day too.

    You must be a true animal lover to live here - it requires a commitment to large dogs who do present some challenges and need to keep up their training schedule. This may require a visit to Sydney with me to work with their trainer.

    In return, feel free to use the spa, the awesome sound system and the fast, free internet. We often watch a movie at night. WITH POPCORN! The house is large, clean and comfortable and your accommodation will be one of two options: in the separate apartment on the same property which has an ensuite bathroom, on a comfy sofa bed or in a single room which has space for a mattress on the floor. It will depend what is happening at the house at the time you are here.

    PLEASE ONLY CONSIDER THIS OPPORTUNITY IF YOU ENJOY NATURE AND LOVE ANIMALS and are not afraid of working outside. My garden has amazing bird and bat life! I have two large, enthusiastic, friendly lurchers (Hattie and Oi) and their twice-daily walk will be your first job every morning and your last job in the evening.

    If you don't like dogs, this is not for you. They are regarded as part of my family and they are large and strong. They are always in the lounge room at night with us. They are allowed on the furniture. If you are working in the garden they will want to follow you around. If you're not a dog person, this is probably not the right fit for you as they are a dominant part of every day here. If you are a dog person, you'll fall in love with them.

    As the dogs live in the house with us, cleaning is a daily priority and I like people with attention to detail. Life gets very furry sometimes!

    The house is 500 metres (ten minutes) from the iconic Three Sisters and close to all the best bush walks the mountains has to offer. Katoomba is a friendly, funky village with lots of interesting shops, cafes and art galleries - even a street art walk. There are excellent vegetarian and vegan cafes close by. Meat eaters have a whole world of other choices! The house is within walking distance of the train station (15-20 minutes) and is in a very picturesque street.

    Please note I try to limit my WorkAwayers to two at a time but sometimes there's an overlap and sometimes I do have enough tasks for two or three.

    While the help in the garden is sometimes intensive, you won't be a slave and you'll have regular breaks, meals and time off for exploring, bushwalking, shopping and catching up on your own stuff. And if you want a day or two off to go camping, as long as the tasks get done, I can be completely flexible. There's no work (except walking the dogs) on the day you arrive. If I'm not at work, I'll take you out exploring so you can see some of our spectacular sights and so you can get to know where things are.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a room available with one single bed and I can put a mattress on the floor if you are two people. I also have a separate apartment which is sometimes available to WorkAwayers. It has a private ensuite bathroom and living room with TV.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is 500 metres from the iconic Three Sisters and close to all the best bush walks the mountains has to offer. Katoomba is a friendly, funky village with lots of interesting shops, cafes and art galleries. There's a great live music scene and flourishing artistic culture here. We are within walking distance of the train station (15-20 minutes) and in a very picturesque street.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our bathroom
We are here!
The three dogs at The Three Sisters
Guests bedroom - you sleep here when there are no guests
Oi and Barkley snuggling up in winter.
It snows in winter here.
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























































Host ref number: 841473349375