Help us renovate our house and reorganize the garden in Ried, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 105 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Willem and Anneke and live in the village of Ried, in the province of Friesland, in the Netherlands.

    We live here with 2 cats, 4 chickens and 2 Jack Russell’s.

    We are 57 and 58 years old and our children are out of the house. We have 2 beautiful granddaughters of which we are very proud.
    Willem is a podiatural therapist (Podiatrist) and has his own practice in Schagen and Ried. Just like Willem, I, Anneke, also have my own practice, but at home. I am an Energetic therapist and guide people on their spiritual path.

    Willem and I are very busy with our practice, and to keep the house and garden in good condition is quite a lot, which is why we can use some help. We have been living in Ried for almost 5 years now and have a very large garden.

    Inside and outside our house there is still a lot of work to be done, painting the gutters and frames, renewing parts in the gutters, inside there are skirting boards and a floor that need to be laid, in short there is plenty of work.

    After a hard day's work, there is a nice meal waiting for you that we eat together. There are two rooms, one with a double bed and sofa bed and a room with a double bed and a desk. Here you can retreat nicely to relax. We share the bathroom with each other, but privacy is guaranteed.

    It will sometimes happen that we are not at home because we are working. You're a guest, but we like it when you feel at home, even when you're alone.

    We would like to offer you a pleasant time that you can look back on with pleasure. If you want to make use of our expertise, we make time for that.

    Hope to see you soon

    Anneke & Willem

    Ps. We value everyone's privacy and will not ask for QR code. Everyone is welcome here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The environment in which we live has an ancient history.
    We are 20 minutes away from the capital of Friesland, Leeuwarden.
    Leeuwarden has a rich history, our royal family has its roots there.
    In Franeker, one of the Friesche 11 cities is the Eise Eisinga museum and planetarium. Franeker was long ago a university city where many famous scholars have studied. The most famous student was René Descartes (1596-1650). But the later director-general of New Netherland Pieter Stuyvesant (1611-1672) also studied in Franeker.
    A little further in the small town of Wieuwerd you can visit the church, where several mummies are located in the cellar. A special phenomenon because the mummies are mummified in a natural way.

    For those not interested in history, there is of course the water sports for which Friesland is famous. The many lakes offer many activities. We ourselves enjoy visiting small markets in the area and taking a nice walk in the woods, usually we walk in Drenthe which is a 45-minute drive.

    Ried is located 10 minutes from the Wadden sea. You can easily get there by bike. There also are several cycle paths along which you can enjoy nature.
    The Frisians are sports people, so you will find various sports associations in almost every village, including a Kaatsvereniging. Kaatsen is an old Dutch sport that is only played fanatically in Friesland.
    Heerenveen is also fun to visit, especially the skating rink Thialf known from the TV world championship speedskating

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    It is important to us that you can work independently. We appreciate it if you have experience in renovation. This is important for work on our house. We can use strong hands and insight for the garden

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation is a spacious room on the first floor of the house. There is a double bed and a sofa bed where you can chill. The other room has an double room and a desk. Both rooms are nice rooms where you can relax after a day's work.
    The bathroom is located downstairs and we share it with each other. Toilet is both upstairs and downstairs.
    We have dinner together, usually between 6.30 pm and 7.00 pm. We have breakfast together on the weekends, just like lunch.
    Food is generally not a problem, the freezer and refrigerator are full and there is always something at home. I try to get vegetables from local farmers, just like meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We like to relax after our busy day. We enjoy dinner and like to talk about the things of the day.
    We also like to watch a movie via netflix or the like.
    A nice book also is great for relaxing.

    In the summer there is still plenty to do in the garden, especially when it is very hot during the day, it is nice to be busy in the evening.

    As mentioned earlier, we enjoy walking in the forest and visiting markets in the area. (as it is posible)

    Willem makes arch supports/ inlays, which is part of his profession as a podopostural therapist. If there are a lot of inlays to make, I help him in the evening after dinner and we often have the best conversations.

    I also enjoy painting and reading. I regularly leave for my practice room to do my spiritual exercises and I also accompany sound journeys in which you can participate.

    There are several nice theaters and cinemas in the area.
    The city center of Leeuwarden is great for shopping, as is Franeker and Sneek.

    In short, the old 11 cities each offer their own fun peculiarities.The station is in Franeker and is 8 minutes by car and 25 minutes by bike. In consultation we can always bring you and / or collect you from the train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good WiFi connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The large backyard has enough space for a motorhome or camper. Electricity is also available

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We do not mind a dog as long as it is well trained and well under appeal and does not go after the stray chickens and our cats. It is recommended that the dog is also social with other dogs. And very importantly, he or she must have great resilience. Our dogs are Jack Russells and still very young (June 2021)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 839889517518