Help us host our cabins in the beautiful countryside by the Hardangerfjord, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 273 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2022

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our place by the fjord. We are a coupple who started up a small cabin rental business in 2020. Yes, the year the pandemic started. We still had an ok summer, renting out two modern cabins to mainly norwegians, but also some international guests. One of the cabins is a treetop cabin, (15 sqf.) which is very popular at the moment. The cabin is grounded by a steel phrame, but it is situated on a platou overlooking a forest, about a 100 meter from the fjord/sealevel. The other cabin is 40 square feet, also in a modern style, a bit higher up, overlooking the fjord. The place is stunningly beautiful, away from the hussle and stress. 3 km away from the mainroad, we and the guests feel secluded in a nice way. The guests say they feel a certain calmness the minute they arrive. You get really close to the nature, still living comfortably. The squirrels and the birds visit the terrace to pick up some nuts or seeds.

    This year we would like to be able to take a break, go away for a day or two. The previous years this hasn`t been easy. You never know if there will be guests or not, and it is not possible to plan anything. So we need some extra hosts. We have a high score from our guests, so we will teach you how to be the best host.

    With only two cabins we don`t really have enough work as a commercial host, to fill a whole weeks work. So we have spoken to our neighbur, an artist /taxi driver/ Gallery owner :-) Helping out there would mean some more gardening, some cleaning and maybe serve at one of the art exebitions/conserts. (Yes there is a gallery here in this secluded place :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will teach you how to be the best hosts, some cleaning and maintainance. We can also teach you how to climb mountains, pack a rucksack for the unexpected etc. Maybe go on a hike together, make a bonfire if it is not to dry. We speak norwegian, english and one of us even german. We would love to learn spanish or italian.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    So what we need help with, is to clean the two cabins and welcome the guests, tell them practical things and tell a litle bit about what to do in this area. Most people want to go hiking on daytrips. There is plenty of mountains with a stunning fjordview from the top, in the area. Google Hardanger and hiking!
    The caibins are small, so the cleaning part is usually done in 45 minutes for the small one, and 1 hour for the big one in the beginning. With experience probably less. We have a dog and a cat. They are both very loving and loved familymembers. If we go away for a day or two, we may need your help to take care of them. Feeding them and go for a walk or two a day. We don`t have a big garden, but some help with the watering of the plants would be nice. We have to make sure we have enough wood for the winter, so we will be chopping up some for the next winter. Would be great to have some help with this. We also need to put up a fence, protecting the fruit trees from the deers. Would be great to have help by a handy person. There will pfcourse be time to Explore and Enjoy the area.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    At least one of us is interested in learing spanish and italian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in a litle house, a few steps away from the gallery. There is a bathroom in the next building and a kitchen in the gallery that you can use. We will be sharing some meals in our house, but you can also make your own food at the kitchen in the gallery. There is also a washing machine available for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will make sure you will have enough time to go hiking yourself. Maybe we can go together on some of them. This area is famous for the apple blossom and the postcard perfect litle places along the fjord. There is a glacier near by and a summer skiscenter on top of it. We have 3 sit on top kayaks, very easy to paddle, even on rough sea. Those are primarily for the guests but absolutely possible to use in your spare time. You must have a drivers liscens, because the public transportation is limited.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are sure we can find a nice spot to park your campervan, but we have to have permission from our neighbur.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Mostly 12:00 -15:00


Host ref number: 839147372922