Creating self sufficiency in the foothills of Cradle Mountain- Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/02/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    30 ODD ACRES OF FARM LAND IN BEAUTIFUL LORINNA. Being established as a self sufficient holding that is completely off grid with veggie gardens, a milking cow, beef cattle, rabbits, chickens, bees and more in the plans that we'd love to have some help with! We're planning to build a post and beam strawbale house with earthen floors and roof, building to begin soon.

    We're just easy going, casual folk here, we don't get uptight about much and like to laugh and have a good time. We have 3 homeschooled kids aged 15, 14 and 11 who are capable, polite, respectful and friendly, and that's not just their mothers perspective! We have a dream that we want to build and could do with a little help to achieve it.

    We believe in caring for our animals by caring for the land and the food grown on it. The health of a our animals is managed by providing a nutrient rich variety of foods using regenerative farming practices, aiming to restore the balance of all things in and on the piece of land we manage. We aim to continue to grow in ecological literacy, the understanding of our landscape as a continuously evolving and complex organism of which we are only a small part.

    There is little mobile phone service here. Telstra can be accessed in some locations, though if you need to make a call we're happy to help out and there is some internet access.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It's a different way of living here, on the land and of the land. We have so many plans, so we're always building something new, with opportunities to learn a variety of different skills. Recent projects have included the cow shed, milking bale, chicken house, beehives, gates and fences. Veggie gardens are still being created so there's an opportunity to learn about soil structure and life, and growing things. We're making our own butter and cheese if this is something of interest, and tree planting is next on the to-do list, with specific trees selected to foster and encourage biodiversity in soil life and pasture management within our specific micro climate. We tan the hides of the animals which we process for eating. Music, dancing and circus skills form a part of our daily lives. We are happy to talk and share our thoughts and reasoning on things, and always glad to have the thoughts and reasoning of another.

  • Help

    Help

    gardening and animal care
    We're planning to build a post and beam strawbale house with earthen floors and roof, building to begin soon.

    An extra pair of hands to help with the everyday tasks would be fantastic! Alternatively, someone to help with the things we are creating would help us get there so much sooner.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our current house is very, very small, so small in fact that only the kids sleep in it! People can sleep in a camper van or, like us, in a tent. The weather is lovely and you could choose to pitch a tent close to the house or find a quiet and private space in the bush a little further away. We are flexible and like to be as accomodating as possible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the foothills of Cradle Mountain on the edge of Lake Cethana. There are many beautiful bush walks around the local area, swimming or fishing in the gorgeous lake, community activities such as aikido, yoga etc. We are a long way from public transport but with a lively and well connected community we can always find a way around the lack of buses and trains to get people where they need to be.
    We have only recently purchased the land and have no experience with work away helpers, so no reviews yet. We try to live as close to the land here as we can, doing things as naturally as they can be.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 838488473375