Travel the beautiful Magdalen Islands (Iles-de-la-Madeleine), Quebec, Canada and work with our family! (child care, gardening and low maintenance)

Country

Canada

Favourited 163 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    883

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Ariane, the mother of Jolyanne (7 years), Karelle (6 years) and Laurent (3 years old). Our family (with daddy Steeve) lives in an old traditionnal house in the Magdalen Islands. Our islands are one of Canada's most beautiful places! It is cool in Summer and our Winters aren't that cold. It is a natural paradise if you like to hike, to explore, if you like nautical activities (kayak, kite surf, sailing, etc.) and of course, going to the beach! In winter, you can go out cross-country skiing, on snow shoes or even kiting on ice!

    We need help with child care, gardening, maintenance on our blueberry shrubs and planting strawberries, housework & repairs, beekeeping, chicken coop, etc. I also operate a soapshop from our home! I make fresh natural soaps from scratch as well as other skin loving products. I may need help in the soap shop and I always have extras to give to our guests.

    If you get along with kids and are willing to help us with our projects of the moment, our home is a great place for you!

    We can accept families in Summer if you are willing to camp as our home only has one guest room. (We have a big land with trees & woods to camp)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Magdalen Islands are beautifull and it's a unique place to visit with 300 km of white sand beaches! In our family we love to eat well, we rarely buy processed, so you will eat well.(If you also help with making meals) We can show you the best spots to visit around here and suggest great activities in all seasons! Please, look up where we are on google maps before sending us a request as traveling here can be pricy depending on the season. By plane, you can book via Air Canada or by ferry from Montreal or PEI via CTMA Transport.
    As we are a French speaking family, you could take the opportunity to learn a new language.

  • Help

    Help

    Most help needed will be child care in the Summer. We also need some help around the house, gardening, painting, beekeeping, feeding the chickens, collecting eggs, etc.
    Help on repairs on the house, housekeeping.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room on the first floor with double bed. Access to bath and shower in the basement. Possibility of camping in the summer with access to the house in the day time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We recommend that the volunteer have a travel insurrance during his/her stay. We only ask for help Monday to Friday. Weekends are off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day 5 days a week




Host ref number: 837356332421