Old farmhouse could use some care in the countryside an hour from Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 102 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/05/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! I am Kat, a trained architect, I just bought an old farmhouse surrounded by beautiful nature 1hr south from Berlin. I lived in Berlin for the past 16 years and just recently moved to Brandenburg. I love cooking, traveling, my van, dancing and my two cats Nelson and Piper!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I work for a non-profit organisation in Brandenburg that develops new forms of working and co-living in rural areas - you can get insights into the development of the countryside of former East Germany. There is a direct train connection to Berlin where I have a big international group of friends and international workawayers in other projects nearby.

  • Help

    Help

    I am currently renovating an old farmhouse - beautifully located in nature, with a campfire pit and endless possibilities for walks. As a trained architect, everything is ready in my head and on paper- I now look for supporters to help me improving the house as I do everything by myself so far.
    My plot is pretty big - approx. 6.000sqm- next to the forest with some old fruit trees and a veggie garden - getting into permaculture and landscape design (longterm goal is a swimming pond) and am open for some arty installations here and there.

    I just finished building a sewage treatment system which recycles my waste water and brings it back into the soil. Next steps are building a bathroom and an outdoor kitchen!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a native german speaker, fluent in english but would love to polish my french and add spanish to my languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room in the house. Camping in summer is also welcome if desired, also parking your van on my property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    direct train connection to Berlin (approx.1hr), beautiful nature, woods, fields, campfires
    the meals provided are vegetarian / vegan

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have unlimited internet access, I also work remotely from home.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I myself own a campervan - Bruno, so company is welcome!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 835996388722