Help us to create living space in Marmelete, Portugal

  • Favourited 352 times
  • Last activity: 26 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    ***We are looking for motivated Workawayer to support us currently with clearing and removing bushes. You should definitely have experience with brushcutters and electric hedge trimmers or be confident working with these machines. ***

    We are part of an association that bought 36 hectares in the Serra Monchique.
    Within the 36ha, groups have turned to individual areas in order to shape them individually according to their needs and to live together in good neighbourhood.
    We David, Gunda with our Children Matilda (7) and Milan(2) are creating infrastructure and living space. We started at 0 in the middle of nature 2019. Now we have a Yurt for living space, a big outdoor kitchen, a small clay house and some caravans as sleeping rooms. .
    The property is located in a beautiful and remote area. It is about 5 km to the country road. There is a river and a small lake on the property.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The most beautiful experience for me at this place is the nature near simply living which inspires me daily new and brings me closer to myself.

    If this is too boring for you, you can expand your skills in permacultur gardening, construction, building in general, catching springs, unschooling, or letting off steam with heavy machines...

    In addition, other groups and families live on the 36 hectares.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Free cutting to make the land fire safe.
    Changing green waste.
    Creating mixed-culture gardens (permaculture)
    Cutting wood
    Building terraces and paths.
    Clay work.
    Having fun with life close to nature ;)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    A caravan is available for our guests.
    We have 2 compost toilets and outdoor hot shower.

    We are not vegetarian or vegan. We usually don't use much animal products in our daily life, so it's no problem to adapt our food to the respective needs.
    We buy once a week at the farmers market and eat a lot of vegetables and fruits.
    Breakfast at individual times... You will get home made bread or muesli as you like.
    Lunch warm together. In the evening usually a soup or bread...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Serra Monchique is a very popular hiking area, which is ideal for hiking trips.
    The beautiful beaches of the surrounding area can be reached in 25 - 40 minutes by car.
    For party enthusiasts: The famous Pizza Party in Tojeiro every Friday is in about 20 minutes by car.
    Shopping facilities with café and Mini Mercado are about 15 minutes away by car (depending on weather conditions)
    By car : Aljezur 20min
    Monquice 30min
    Portimao 45min
    Lagos 30min

    From Aljezur dayli busses to Lisbon
    and Lagos

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have space for campervans with compost toilet nearby

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week Maximal 4-5 Stunden am Tag, 5 Tage die Woche

Host ref number: 835886528689

Feedback (5)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Feminist dance and reforestation project looking for creatives near Cercal, Portugal
Help our family take care of our rescue animals and with outdoor projects in Baixo Alentejo, Portugal