Help on a farm in beautiful West Wales

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 210 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple of ecologists with three small children, living in beautiful West Wales. We live on a 25 acre traditional organic Welsh farm which we are restoring and enhancing for nature conservation. The farm has always been a small holding which has been untouched for several decades and we are trying to bring it back to its former glory. We currently farm a small number of mixed livestock (traditional/rare breed cows, goats, sheep and chickens). The farm comprises pasture, wildflower hay meadows, an arable field, large pond/lake, vegetable garden and traditional farm buildings. We're working to increase the biodiversity of the farm through traditional methods and through new planting (traditional orchard and new woodland) as well as providing us with a self sufficient lifestyle.

    We live in quite an isolated part of the country and run our small business from home, so we're always about.

    We love the countryside and are keen to share any knowledge we can. We also love food and cooking and aim to produce as much of our own food as possible.

    We've had a break from volunteers for most of 2017 as we've had a new baby, but we're enthusiastic to get going again on some exciting projects this year and need some help!

    We are looking for volunteers for spring and summer primarily. We will not be available for much of August and there are a few weekends in May when we will be away. Please message us with dates and hopefully we can come to an arrangement.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're both ecologists and passionate about wildlife and the natural world. We're combining this with our interpretation of self sufficiency (this is by no means a strict definition) and we're happy to share what we know. Most of all you'll get to be part of family life in a very rural and very beautiful part of the country, where life is slow and based outdoors. We want people who will happily be part of our family for the time that you're here. That means helping us out when you can, but also just watching cartoons with the kids or chatting to us over dinner. We want you to enjoy your time with us and we try to take volunteers out and about on days off as much as we can. Whilst we do need to visit various places during the week, we are mostly based at home. With small children, our weekdays can be fairly restricted. We do try to reward our hard working volunteers though so will do our best to make sure you see some of the local area. We plan the week with you and expect you, and us, to be flexible. We really enjoy meeting new people and our favourite volunteers have been great company.

  • Help

    Help

    We have so much to do that we can vary the work to suit what you're interested in. Our current priorities are:


    Wood chopping/ gathering wood from around the farm
    Fitting new gates onto field fences.
    Renovation work on existing barns/ preparation of existing barns for new greenhouse plans
    Removal of concrete using power tools
    Gardening - weeding/planting in the vegetable garden/polytunnel and gardening within the family garden.
    Regular animal feeding.

    There is always lots to do and we can usually match tasks to suit your interests. There are indoor and outdoor tasks, so you're not required to work for weeks in poor weather! Let us know what interests you and we'll do our best to accommodate you. We're happy to work with you to make sure you get the most out of your visit and you can either do a large range of jobs or we can find a project for you to get stuck into during your time here.

    We have three small children who quite rightly take up a lot of our time. Our youngest is a baby (nearly 1) so please do bear this in mind when applying. Primarily we're looking for help on the farm. We'll make sure there's a lot of hearty, hot food at mealtimes. Cooking is a big passion of ours so you won't go hungry.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Spare room in the house (currently the best room in the house!) - double bed central heating, shared bathroom. Wifi. Couples or single volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in West Wales, which is a very rural part of the country. The farm is quite isolated (half mile access track and nearest small village 3 miles away) but we would be happy to give lifts wherever possible to local towns etc. We are both professional ecologists and there is a lot of wildlife on the farm. We only tend to visit nearby towns a couple of times a week, but are happy to provide transport when we go. This part of Wales is pretty wet in the winter and spring, so volunteers needs to be happy working outdoors. We provide lots of homecooked organic food and all the meat (and most of the veg) is raised here on the farm. For a remote area, the internet access is good.

    We are about 40 minutes from Cardigan bay (north west) and the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park (south west), but public transport is very limited. You will need to either travel to us directly or we can collect from Carmarthen train/coach station.

    We are always pretty busy so you will need to be happy to get on with jobs without direct supervision at all times. There's lots of scope to get stuck into lots of different things and we will be working with you as much as possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week







Host ref number: 835338845338