Explore Taranaki from Omata and join us on our family farm in New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with two young kids who are one and three years old. We live on a small farm that we have just moved to. I am a Canadian and my husband is a Kiwi. I am a teacher and my husband is an engineer. We are both travellers and enjoy meeting people from around the world. We are just looking for a bit of extra help during this busy time raising two little boys. For cultural exchange, we are keen to share the occasional meal together and share experiences and stories and have fun. We do however have a one and three year old so we go to bed really early and have limited energy reserves! We are happy to share ideas of adventures to have around Taranaki and NZ.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We work part time so we are around sometimes to share some meals together but not always. Volunteers are responsible for their own food but we provide a lovely private cottage. You are welcome veggies and fruit in the garden.

  • Help

    Help

    We are hoping for some help with weeding, cooking, some child care and general up keep of the property.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private Cottage

    Our veggie and fruit garden is all up for grabs. We also have fresh eggs to share. For groceries, we would like volunteers to do their own shopping please. So for that reason we ask 15 hours of work per volunteer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ten minutes from our house is great surfing, beaches, cafes, pub, pharmacy, supermarket, biking, museums, shopping. 30 minutes away is hiking on Mount Taranaki.
    It is an awesome area for exploring. The town of New Plymouth is 10 minutes away and the beach town of Oakura is also ten minutes away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Having a campervan would be ideal as our house is a bit busy with two young kids who are not the best sleepers. You would have internet and could use laundry facilities and hang out with us in our house when you want to.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as they are trained to not eat chickens and they don’t come in our house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 832349379674