Help in a busy farming household in County Down, Northern Ireland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 84 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    230

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are family of 7- David and Anne, 4 children (aged 11, 9, 7and 4) and David's father John. We live on the family farm close to a town in County Down, Northern Ireland.
    We have hosted a number of au pairs over the past 10 years mainly from the Czech Republic and many of them have returned to visit again and again. For the past 2 years we have enjoyed some workaway volunteers also.
    We now have a local lady who helps with the childcare in the afternoons but are interested in hosting someone for a workaway experience.
    We have a working dairy farm -
    lots of cows and calves, some donkeys and a dog.
    We live in a beautiful part of Northern Ireland close to fantastic beaches and mountains. Our children are learning Spanish in school and have enjoyed learning some Czech and French from previous visitors. Maybe you can add to this!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have enjoyed helping many of our visitors with their English while here. We believe Northern Ireland has lots to offer with history, arts and sightseeing.

  • Help

    Help

    We have lots of helping opportunities depending on the time of the year on the farm. We are glad of help in the day to day running of the household- meal preparation, laundry, playing with or supervising the children. If you are interested in working outside there's lots to be done- gardening, painting, window cleaning, if you can. If you enjoy cooking we're happy to taste your cuisine too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one bedroom with two beds available. There is a bathroom for your own use. We have good WiFi access.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of outdoor possibilities if you don't mind getting wet now and again! Excellent mountain biking, hill walking, National trust properties (old houses), churches, beaches, a good local arts centre. We are less than an hour from Belfast, the home of the Titanic, which has become a popular city destination. We have directed many visitors to sights to see, tours to take and what not to miss. Transport links with Belfast and Dublin are good.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 828481556318