Add your artistic footprint to our place in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Country

Thailand

Favourited 386 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Eco-building, tropical landscaping, healthy lifestyle...come join the international creative team at the House. Originally from Canada, we are building a house and retreat centre outside of Chiang Mai, Thailand where we plan to host workshops in yoga, massage, Acroyoga, dance, art, natural building...
    The building materials included mud, grass, soap, salt, bottles, rocks, mosaic (adobe, bamboo, aircrete blocks, bottle bricks) to construct domes, arches, and various round, curvy shapes and a salt water pool - all in original architectural design.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in rural Thailand yet still 20 minutes from Chiang Mai's 800 yr old city. Chiang Mai is a dynamic, multicultural city with something for everyone. In the countryside you can watch the cycle of rice farming, visit the local temple and market, learn to speak some Thai with the locals, visit nearby attractions. Also learning about the natural building process, design, and making mosaic.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for helpers with some building, carpentry or stone work experience and artistic flair. There will be a lot of landscaping, gardening, irrigation/drainage layout to take advantage of the rainy season and there are also many other jobs such as building shelving and a custom desk, surfacing outdoor pathways (stone), mosaic and other artistic contributions, lighting design, photography, video editing, website design, building a covered parking space for motorcycles with attached shed, building a door for the outdoor toilet....

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, little bits of Thai

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It is located 15km SW from Chiang Mai, on the edge of a rural village and surrounded by rice paddy. There is one spare bedroom in the house with 3 comfortable foam mattresses, a sofa bed on the back deck, option to sleep under the stars (and a mosquito net) on the upper terrace, a bamboo hut with a double bed and several tents also available. There is a full indoor kitchen and bathroom. We mostly cook vegetarian meals (but you could cook meat outside on the small bbq if you wanted). We can share responsibilities for cooking, cleaning and shopping for meals at the house and we usually go out to a local restaurant for lunch. Food will be provided on site and if we go to the local restaurant for lunch, but you are responsible to pay for yourself if you go out to other restaurants to eat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Chiang Mai is only 20 minutes away and has lots to offer including temples, Thai Massage, Acroyoga, great food, yoga, dance, hiking... We are 1km away from the Grand Canyon where you can swim, kayak and jump from cliffs and also close to Ob Khan National Park to hike, swim or camp. Many people come to Chiang Mai for motorcycle and bicycle tours in the surrounding mountains....and did I mention coffee?...hundreds of coffee shops around the city to choose from.
    There are 4 bicycles on the property to use for exploring the local area and transport to Chiang Mai (30 minutes) or Hang Dong (10 minutes) can be arranged amongst ourselves (usually by motorbike) or by Grab taxi (like Uber) or by red truck (public shared taxi).

    We have a salt water swimming pool on site to help cool off on a hot day and we enjoy hanging out, listening to & playing music, doing Acroyoga, slacklining, yoga, massage, cooking good food, playing games....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 828326795721