Help out a French, Irish family with our son in Ennis, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 240 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    No availability until June 2023. We will start considering application in March 2023.

    We are a french/Irish family living in Ennis in county Clare. We are between Galway and Limerick as well as 20 minutes away from the seaside. I am working as sommelier and studying for a diploma so I usually am quite busy and working long hours. My partner is Irish and working in the hospitality industry as well. Our son’s name is Eliot and he’s a very active little boy who loves the outdoors. We are expecting a little one in May 2023 so the family is still growing ! We also have four cats but they don’t really live in the house. We often eat in restaurants/pubs and we enjoy hiking and visiting new places. We love woodwork as well but we unfortunately don’t have much time for that at the moment. Both my partner and myself have been living abroad so between the two of us, we speak french, English, Italian and Spanish. My partner likes to believe he speaks Gaelic but he doesn’t !! I did a Workaway when I first arrived in Ireland until I find a job and got settled and it was really a great experience. I’m hoping to be as good host as mine was.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be welcome to participate in all aspects of our family life, from food shopping to going to Limerick market or the west coast with us. I’d be happy to drive you anywhere you might want to go in the county when I’m not working and you would be very close to the bus/train station if you’d like to travel on your own. We would be happy to help you progress in English and my partner would definitely be delighted to talk and share about the Irish culture. We are both open minded and would really love to learn ourselves about different culture.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    It would be a full time salary position, with 2 consecutive days off each week most of the time 4 consecutive days off. We might ask for help around the house but it wouldn’t be your main duty. Eliot is all smiles and very sociable. I would love him to be more exposed to french but we are open to welcome workawayers from any country. You would be free to take him for strolls and we would encourage initiative when it comes to activities. Cooking skills are very much appreciated as I rarely have the time to cook myself. We are happy to provide support for any activities you would like to organise.
    We expect someone with experience with young children as you would mind our son on your own 3 days a week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have taught french and I would be happy to help out with English, from recommending books and different type of supports to have a good chat to help improving your vocabulary.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom (see pic) and you would share the bathroom with myself only. We live in a 3 bedroom house with a big enough garden in a residential area. There’s all the comfort needed, washing machine, dryer, fibre, Netflix, Amazon prime and so on. Feel free to ask any questions about where you’d be staying.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Train/Bus station 5 minutes walk.
    Restaurants, supermarkets, pubs and bus station within walking distance.
    2h30 Dublin
    1h Galway
    30 minutes Limerick
    30 minutes Lahinch
    Lovely scenic hikes around.
    Location is ideal for people who like nature but also an easy access to bigger cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Full-time, 35/40hours a week



Host ref number: 827235189367