Family homestead using permaculture principles in Kamloops, Canada

  • Favourited 4 times
  • Last activity: 3 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four, our sons are 5.5 years old and almost 2 years old. Our 5 acre property is 30km outside of Kamloops, BC, beyond the Lac de Bois Grasslands. We purchased our land in 2017 and built our off grid, passive solar cabin to move into during the summer of 2019. We finally installed electricity and running water in the house. We use a composting outhouse.

    Our dream is to develop the land using permaculture principles which will one day include a food forest. We are striving to live as sustainably as we can while staying completely debt free. Ideally this property will serve as a template to educate others about sustainable living practices. We are still in the early stages of development but there's always projects on the go as well as meals to cook and helping with the kids.

    In 2016 we traveled through Central America doing workaway as a couple. It was an amazing experience that helped shape the people we are today. We have a deep respect for the program and are looking forward to hosting.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are living an alternative lifestyle. We use a composting outhouse and have experimented with using some of our finished compost. Come learn about growing food, raising chickens, making compost, and enjoying nature.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our property has a steep slope which you will need to climb at least once a day. The work is physically demanding. Here are some of the projects we will be working on as of this SUMMER in no particular order:
    -Weeding/watering gardens
    -Cooking
    -Playing with our kiddos
    -General chores (ie: feeding chickens)
    -Butchering meat birds beginning of August
    -Collecting mulch for composting outhouse
    -Gathering firewood and moving trees to use for building.

    We feel we have enough variety of work available for many different skill levels. If you would be more interested in child minding and cooking while enjoying our home in the woods, that would be lovely. And if you are interested in gardening, we have lots of knowledge to share. And if you have building skills we would be grateful for your help and can share what we are learning as we go along with our development.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travel trailer: 27 foot trailer, queen size bed, equipped kitchen, propane stove/fridge/hot water tank, dining table/small extra bed, 3 piece bathroom (chamber pot style), DC solar for lights, outdoor fire pit.

    If volunteers are travelling together, but aren't sharing a bed there is space to tent or there is an additional small trailer with a double size bed also. The large trailer kitchen can then be shared.

    We will provide lunch on the days we work. As well as one or two dinners per week.

    There is a kitchen in the trailer for volunteers to make their breakfast and dinners. We will provide beans, rice and oats as well as any food ready for harvest from the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our area is secluded, there is no cell phone service only internet. You will be required to use a composting out house.
    We can pick you up in Kamloops and take you for any supplies you may need before we leave town. There is endless wilderness territory to explore around us.
    -15km to Red Lake which is good for fishing.
    -waterfall to hike to
    - lots of hiking right from the property
    - river nearby that is refreshing in the summer
    - we will take you to town once a week to pick up groceries and get cell service. (Possibly more, but every week as a minimum)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 Hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 826227546378

Feedback

Help us with the garden, cooking and stay in a glamping cabin in Nelson, Canada
Family homestead in the heart of Slocan Valley, Winlaw, BC Canada