Enjoy your time with us as a family member in the unspoiled natural countryside, Pays de la Loire, France



Favourited 171 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    We are an English and French couple living in 10 hectares (25acres) of unspoiled natural countryside in the Mayenne area. Our property is a protected site for birds and butterflies and obviously we do not allow hunting on our land. Our lakes and woodland support a wide range of wildlife and we aim to upkeep this natural balance.

    Over the last few years we have hosted many workawayers that have helped us to maintain our natural surroundings and renovate our farmhouse. Our farmhouse is now finished and we have remained friends with many of our workawayers.

    We now rent weekly this place in the summer, and we will need you to make it welcome, and to tidy the garden and the land, cutting grass, clearing up fallen trees, planting the vegetable garden, and organising the house for our guest.

    During the summer, we are embarking on a new project.
    We have another smaller property 10minutes drive from our farm which needs a lot of attention.
    The house needs to be completely renovated and the garden (3500m2) needs to be revamped.
    Basically everything needs to be done.
    Our intention is to build a small extension (approx 20m2) and a square tower (approx 12m2) for the front door and entrance hall.

    As with the farmhouse we will try to use as many ecological materials (lime, hemp, straw, wood etc) as possible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We try to live a simple life close to nature and we try to make things we require rather than just buying them. We are both inventive and respectful of nature and all living things. Our days usually include at least a snippet of fun and originality.

  • Help


    Primarily workaways will be invited into the family to share in family life and work.
    We are looking for an exchange of knowledge, culture, or language and hopefully all of these.

    We rent this place during the summer and we will need you to make it welcome, and to tidy the garden and the land, cutting grass, clearing up fallen trees, planting the vegetable garden, and organising the house for our guest.

    The help we require is notably physical in nature, but is always shared and dependent not only on the weather but also on the ability of the workers involved.

    Outdoor work such as gardening, trimming hedges and creating a vegetable plot (permaculture system), will be available as well as renovation work on the house. This will include all trades as there is everything to do.

    We seem to always have more than one type of work to do at any one time, so it is usually fairly easy to find a suitable job for each workaway.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and English

  • Accommodation


    We have two fully renovated double bedrooms and a shared bathroom with a separate toilet, upstairs for the workaways in our farmhouse.
    Normally the idea is to sleep at our finished farmhouse and work on the new project during the day, or when it is rented here, to camp (glamp) at the other "house" ... well, more some walls and a roof actually. It is more than basic.
    We will have power with a solar panel plug to a battery (only for recharging mobiles and a bit of light at night) wifi would be accessable with 3G/4G or wifi hotspot through my mobile. We have a well, which provide water for washing and shower. It's not drinkable, so we collect water in bottles every 3 or 4 days from a natural spring and this one is use for cooking and drinking.
    We have ecological dry toilet.
    The shower is a "solar shower bag" it work brilliant on sunny hot days, it can be too hot at certain time of the day.
    There is no door or windows, so the idea is to camp inside the building, but with proper bedings and privacy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Food is obviously free and varied. We eat a lot of vegetarian and vegan food but workaways are also free to show us their favourite dish.

    There are plenty of local walks and there are bicycles available to explore further afield.

    Musicians are always welcome. We have a piano and a couple of guitars.

    We have 3 cats, 2 young lady about 6 month old : Miss Mitty and Cosette
    and a 15 years old grandma : Touille

    By experience, I know that short stay doesn't allow to get to know someone well. We both need a few days to adapt to each other and to start to open up..... which is the point of workaway for us, anyway.
    So we would prefer if you stay at least 10 to 15 days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Generally our expectations are flexible. We usually hope to work 4 to 5 hours a day; 5 days a week but other arrangements can be made.

Martin and Jagan stacking wood for the winter
Agnes painting the utility room
workawayers' bathroom
accomodation for wokawayers
accomodation for workawayers
Yeah ! go on Robin
Sam finishing some jointing
a baby blue tit rescued from the cat's mouth
Mike and Véronique
The big lake
possible summer accomodation
Help renovate our farmhouse and maintain 10 hectares of lakes, woodland and organic vegetable garden in Mayenne.

Host ref number: 825644145215