Help our family with racing huskies near Alta, northern Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 277 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple of Siv 47 and Ole 50 years who have 2 children of 12 and 15 years. We live in beautiful natural surroundings 15 minutes drive from Alta. We also have a large family in Alta visiting us. both children and adults. We have 30 Alaska husky 2 rabbits 6 chickens and 2 cats. animals mean a lot to us. In the fall and winter much of the time goes to training and care of the dogs. We train our dogs for several races. We also use the dogs on trips to the mountains to enjoy nature

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here with us you want to be part of the family. you want to eat meals and live with us and learn about Norwegian culture and traditions. You will learn about dog racing dog teams and our nature and nature experiences.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an adult who has experience from working life and who wants and can stay until the middle of March or April . The main tasks this season are dog care and participation in training the dogs for dog races. Training of the dogs is with a dog sled. You will spend a lot of time with ole on the trainings and the trips are sometimes long and last many hours in the mountains. Some trips are with overnight. the experiences are fantastic in the polar night with a sleigh under the northern lights with eager dogs. if you think you can handle long dark nights in the cold. then maybe you are the person we are looking for

    We also expect you to be in good physical shape to be able to handle the dogs, the dogs are well trained and strong

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Will be included in the family accommodation with a private room or in a private caravan outside the main house . both with internet .
    You want to share shared meals with your family and otherwise you have free access to food when you want something to eat
    You share living room bathroom with the rest of the family. You have free access whenever you wish

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here you can go nice walks in nature beautiful surroundings, There are cinema, water park, library, shopping center and cafes in the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours/day, 5 days/week We are flexible with hours you also need to be flexible

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 818217192934