Help in my garden and with my Highland cows in the wilderness of Olofström, Sweden

Country

Sweden

new host  

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help and play on a farm by a lake in a forest in Sweden's southernmost wilderness.
    Great fishing, use of canoes, motor boat, sauna by the lake, fully equipped kitchen, fibre optic Internet and large home cinema. Two pianos and other instruments are also available.
    In exchange I need a few helping hands to roll out hay balls to the Highland cows, some grass cutting, trimming tiny trees and other gardening jobs,
    I need two people as the hay balls are heavy to push, and the feeding rack can be heavy to open.
    I'm 60 something and manage this with my daughter and grand-daughter, but all my kids are away for the winter.
    I'm always open to discover other cultures, and am a mixture of many cultures myself, having lived and travelled on four continents.
    You'd need your own car as I have only my camper at the moment. I can provide the basic foods.
    You'd have a double bedroom and use of most of the house - cosy corners with wood burners etc.
    The house is centrally heated. There are two bathrooms, but only one shower. My bedroom is at the other end of the house.
    Nearest supermarket is 15 km away and about an hour away is a bigger town with cinemas, shopping malls, coffee shops, variety of restaurants, pubs etc.
    Copenhagen is 3 hours by car or train, and also has the nearest airport.
    The farm is a 6 km drive through the forest.
    There is no public transport closer than the nearest town, but I can pick-up and drop by the station about 40 mins away.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sauna and bridge by the lake for the traditional Swedish hot and cold experience. Two canoes and a motorboat for going out to the islands in the lake for camping, picnic, fishing.
    Masses of films to watch on huge screen on the loft. There are pianos and other instruments for those who play. Fully equipped kitchen for cooking enthusiasts.

  • Help

    Help

    Help mostly gardening, grass cutting, trimming branches, and when frost comes rolling out hay balls to highland cows.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one double bedroom, and 3 cosy alcoves on the loft by the movie screen if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local shopping town is 15 km away, bigger town 1 hours drive and Copenhagen 3 hours by road or rail. There is no public transport to the farm. I can drop and pick up at local station.
    This is really out in the Swedish bush.
    Best if you come to enjoy the nature.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The internet here is high speed fibre optic. Choice of wi-fi or cabled with Ethernet.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size can park here, and electric hook-up is possible

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4 hours a day


Host ref number: 817189174731