Outdoor help on a fun family Croft in Argyll, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/05/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a family living in beautiful Argyll. We have recently built our home that is situated by Loch Awe, 3 miles to the small village of Kilchrenan, 20 miles from the town of Oban - the gateway to the western isles.
    We are a family of four - myself, Issy (32) my husband Dougie (42) and our sons Jack (4) and Hamish (18 months). We also have our gorgeous working cocker spaniel Toby. Dougie works at Glensanda Quarry, a huge granite quarry and commutes daily. I am a stay at home mum with the boys.
    We love welcoming visitors- we think it is a really magical place with some of the best views you will find in Argyll. We are a really friendly, fun loving, welcoming bunch. Life is busy with small boys but huge fun and there is always lots to do.
    Our place sits on our 60 acre Croft and while we have been busy building the house we are now ready to start using the land, hopefully starting with some pigs and goats! We also have a new poly tunnel which we are very keen to get up and running this year.
    I love cooking, especially to a full table, so you can be assured you will be well looked after and appreciated in our home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In coming here you will be very much welcomed into our family, be well looked after, enjoy the general day to day life that we adore, get to see this beautiful part of the world and use it as a stopping place to explore other amazing areas, such as the islands - many of which you can enjoy as a day trip - I will always be extremely happy to help you get to where you want to see and will have lots of recommendations and sometimes contacts. There is so much to do here, mountain climbing, kayaking, exploring the many old castles, learning about the history of this amazing place - the possibilities are endless!

  • Help

    Help

    We are really looking for help outside with a range of activities from helping get the poly tunnel started (no experience necessary as we can learn together!) helping to build the wood shed and chopping wood, mowing the grass and tidying up the outside of the house, building fences for the pigs and the goats - occasionally walking Toby the dog who will literally become your new best friend

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Basic French!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a very spacious static caravan for you to stay in which is situated just behind our house - all meals will be provided in the house (though you will have a working kitchen should you wish to use it) The caravan has two bedrooms, one double, one single, toilet and shower, kitchen, living area with a TV and a fantastic view of the mountains as your backdrop

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would appreciate help 5 hours per day 5 days a week. When not busy helping you will be really welcome to join us on whatever we are up to - heading out on trips, collecting jack from nursery, exploring etc. Our village has multiple families with workaways so you can always connect with them should you wish. There is a bus from the village to Oban and Taynuilt Village (10 miles away) has a train line linking up Glasgow to Oban. We can provide bikes if you want to explore that way too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 817166789232