Help on our family land in a beautiful place surrounded by wild nature, southeast Estonia

  • Estonia
  • Favourited 9 times
  • Last activity: 14/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello traveler. My name is Jaak (Jack). I manage our family land here in Southeast Estonia. We don't produce anything commercially, just try to grow little bit of food for ourselves. For the last 20 years this place has been more of an summer home for us. We are happy to have good company here, that is the main reason for having volunteers. Of course helping hands are always needed as there is always things to do.
    It's a beautiful place surrounded by wild nature. We have clean water that comes from our well, fresh air that comes from the forests and lots of stars in the night sky. There are two nature parks in 5km distance and a possibility to use bicycles. Opportunities for picking mushrooms and wild berries. Two saunas (one is an old smoke sauna). A pond for swimming.
    Volunteers have a large room at their disposal. Hot water is available most of the time (it needs heating up with fire).
    There are different tasks for volunteers, depending on your experience- lots of building projects, help in the greenhouse and small garden. Some work in the forest and splitting/stacking firewood.
    People from different cultures are very welcome. We had volunteers here for many years (on a different platform) and I have traveled/volunteered extensively in my life so I know both sides of volunteering. I believe that most important part for successful companionship is respect for each other- it means that we can agree to disagree and still happily coexist.
    We like to keep the house and sauna clean and we expect you to do the same.
    We have some cats living here with us, so you should be okay with them. Also I hope to have sheep and chicken soon.
    We are not vegetarian and can't always cater for vegan needs.
    There are normally friends and family members living here in the summer with us. Neighbours are living close by, but we enjoy privacy here. There is a really cool local bar we can go to on the weekend. We do consume alcohol but in moderation, smoking is only outside.
    We speak Estonian, English, Russian und ein bischen German.
    There is a bus coming and going twice a day from/to Võru. Võru is the closest transportation hub with connections to Tallinn and Tartu.
    About internet: there is a good mobile network available. There is no wifi available but I can make a temporary hotspot when really necessary (not for streaming or YouTube).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers are part of the family and can see how life goes on here. We will take you sightseeing, if you are lucky then canoeing also.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with building, gardening, firewood making, housekeeping, animal care. I`m waiting for solar panels to be installed, after this I can build a fence for chicken. There is a interesting project this summer- old smoke sauna needs plastering from inside- clay plaster witch we can make ourselves from sand and clay powder. I have planted potatoes and some beetroot. Cucumbers and tomatoes in the greenhouse. Middle of June I hope to get some bees, so we can work with them also.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Estonian: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared accommodation with other volunteer. (We take two persons at the most). Food is supplied by the host, cooking duties are shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bicycles. There are good hiking tracks close by. Bus to Võru.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is place for camper and electricity with extension cable.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If they can behave. We have (semi wild) cats here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 816537265995

Feedback

Join our small organic household in Setomaa, Estonia
Help me with gardening and art projects in beautiful nature in Roosiku, South Estonia