Become a gummistøvler hero and get inspired on our beautiful eco farm on Als, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 100 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family (34, 39, 2) who settled over from Germany to Denmark to realize our dreams and ideas. We live here on the island of Als in an old farmhouse from 1776 surrounded from a beautiful garden with old trees, a lot of flowers, a little vineyard, big meadows, fruit trees and berry bushes, a big organic vegetable garden and glasshouse with which we want to self-sufficient feed ourselves step by step. The vegetables and fruits we grow there are only for our self consumption.

    We also have a big barn with some animals (chicken, sheep and goats). Apart from the garden and the animals we plan to set up a holiday home and B&B rooms. The B&B does already not excist and is planned for the next year. We use local craftsman to set that up.
    One of our meadows can be used to camp so there are other peolpe visiting our place for time to time. Additional we have always a lot more crazy and exciting ideas and plans which need more time then we actually have as our little daughter of two needs our attention and love too.

    It's important to us that you don't have the impression to be requested to work here, moreover we want you to enjoy the time with us while helping us on projects that catch your attention. It would be our pleasure to integrate you in our daily life of planning and fulfilling different tasks.

    As Corona/Covid19 can be a risk to us, especially our young daughter, and other volunteers as well as guests at our farm, we require that you got vaccinated within the last 6 months.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on a beautiful island with a lot of nature. The trail around Als starts in front of our door. The sea which you can see from our garden is only 400m away via a lovely footpath. If the sea is too cold we can light up the ofen for a bath in our hot pot.
    In our garden or the sourrounding of two big forests you can enjoy the quietness. If you want to have more people around the next bigger city Sønderborg is only 15km away and can be reached by bus, bike or with us in the car ;-).
    We are enthusiastic sailors so maybe we can go sailing together by time.
    We both speak English, German and a little Danish, so we would also love to have support by learning the danish language.
    We hope that we can inspire others with our way of life and get inspiration and new ideas on the other hand.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    If you stay with us, we would be thankful for your help as much as for your opinion and ideas.

    In general it's upon you, in which way you want to support us: Either with gardening, farming, animals, construction work or daily routines like cooking and keeping the house tidy and clean. Of course you have special knowledge we would appreciate if you teach us and enrich our life.

    During winter season (Nov-Mar) we mainly seek for help at taking care for our daughter, cooking, baking bread, feeding animals, cleaning and construction works - like expanding the goats house for the expected newborns in April/May

    At summer season we can offer a bigger variety of tasks.
    Preparing our organic veggie garden for harvesting many fruits and vegetables as well as later keeping it in shape. Flowers and shrub spring care, cut and tie of our roses. Lern with us how to milk goats and produce cheese, yogurt,... and many more.

    Renovation works will be all done with natural materials and we love to share our growing knowledge with you or maybe benefit from yours.

    If you like our ideas in general, lets chat and talk about recent projects that can suit your expectations and interest.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Danish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    As we are new in Denmark and startet to learn danish we are interested in improving while talking. If you like to you can also teach us some grammar or common proverbs. We are happy to help you at learning/improving German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide two guestrooms with double bed including bed linen and towels. Up to the availability with own kitchen and bathroom. Breakfast is prepared independently as we need to get our daughter prepared for kindergarten ;). We can have lunch and dinner together or separate, depends on daily tasks and mood. Help is welcome in preparation and clean up. You also have your own kitchen to prepare your own meals. We focus on healthy and organic food and do not eat meat.
    We love to have a coffee break with cake in the afternoon not only on weekends. So if you like to bake cakes or other sweets you can make us really happy ;-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As Corona/Covid19 can be a risk to us, especially our young daughter, and other volunteers as well as guests at our farm, we require that you got vaccinated within the last 6 months.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a big meadow with a beautiful view to the sea where you may stay. We can provide electricity on the meadow and water near to our barn or house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approximately 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)











Host ref number: 816229586792