Looking for childcare help in a fishing village in Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Family of 4 in a small fishing village in Iceland. Two boys, 7 and 9, my husband is a fisherman (daytours) and I am working and taking a PhD. The boys are in sports after school, the older one manages in English and the younger one is a quick learner, typical youtube-englishlearning-kids :) The town is in North-east Iceland, quiet and nice, and quite uesd to welcomming people from all over the world since the fishing industry usually has workers from all over, and there will be a harring season in sept-okt. My family has a farm nearby that we can visit and take part in some sheep hearding in september.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The life in the fishing village is usually quiet, you are close to nature and hiking/walking in the area are nice. Visits to the family farm will give you the touch of farmlife as well and possibility to try out horse riding. In september and october there is harring season in the fishing factory and good possibility to try working there if help is needed for a few days. In october there might be some traveling with the wife and younger boy to other area in Iceland. And of course learning some Icelandic might be a part of the process :)

  • Help

    Help

    Help in september and october, help with the boys in mornings some days when mother is traveling and husband leaves 5 in the mornings for fishing, other days in the afternoon when they arrive home. Some housework as well most days. We need someone independent and ready to help out with the boys with the parents time-changeing work schedule. Cooking in not necessary but beeing able to prepare simple food for the kids at times.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Icelandic, a little Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Nice room with double bed, closet and a desk, ocean view. Next to the family rooms. Food is avialable whenever at self-service, usually homecooked dinner a few times a week

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To google the area use Langanes, Þistilfjörður, Þórshöfn, North Iceland. We dont have any time consuming hobbies but like to go for short hikes with the kids on your days of, or visit our family farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 799998491789