Explore the beautiful Dovrefjell in Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 161 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 37 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We moved from Oslo to Hjerkinn 3 years ago and love the quiet life at this historic place of natural beauty 1.000 metres above sea level. In the wintertime we go a lot on skiing and in the summer time we have a lot of guest since we have a small campsite at our place. Normalky we have guest from all over the world but since C19 its mostly norwegian visiting.
    I love outdoor life and spend a lot of time in the Mountains With my dogs for training, hunting and competition.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Explore the beautiful area and mountains in Dovrefjell, Snøhetta and Rondane and the animal life that exists here, with musk oxes, reindeer and elks.
    The opportunity to live in the remote Norwegian mountains where only 10 people have permanent residence.
    The area is a treasure for nature photographers and everyone enjoying beautiful scenery, unique botany, hiking and general outdoor life. In the wintertime Its great for skiing and 30 km away, in Oppdal, there are great alpine facilities.
    Learn the Norwegian language, how to take care of animals.

  • Help

    Help

    In may, two of my dogs, one english setter and one irish setter, are going to have puppies.
    From may to july i will need some help with both help looking after the of the puppies and take the other dogs for a walk. Painting inside and outside, some help in the house and outside to fix after the wintertime.
    Its important that you love animals, are responsible and patient, It would be great if you have some experience with dogs, buts its most important that you care for animals.

    From midle/end of june to october, i would if someone would like to come and help with the campsite and guest, keep the house clean and in order. There will be some painting outside, gardening, just help keeping everything look nice and propper. Also some days take some of the dogs for a walk if thats allright.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own rooms with tv and bathroom in the second floor of the house and we will share kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live close to the national park at Dovrefjell, a short walk to Snøhetta Viewpoint and Snøhetta peak at 2.286 meters.
    The area is a paradis for nature photographers, and others who enjoy fresh air, nature and activities like skiing, hiking, fishing, skiing. The nearest mountain lodge have riding horses for rent.
    At Dovrefjell you can experience wildlife like musk oxes, moose/elk, reindeer, eagles and free grazing sheep close to the house.
    There is a botanical garden at Kongsvold Fjellstue just 10 km north closed in withertime ).
    Our house is easily reached as it is located only 400 metres from Hjerkinn train station, and express busses pass several times a day at E6.
    Hjerkinn is located midway between Lillehammer and Trondheim, both ca 2,5 hours by train. The famous pilgrim route Kongeveien passes near the house. The nearest village is Dombås and Oppdal, 20 minutes by train,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 795139928625