Permaculture project on our finca, Chile (35 km far away from Valparaiso)

  • Chile
  • Favourited 170 times
  • Last activity: 1 May 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are a family, Roswitha, Francisco, Isidora (3 years old), Tere (Francisco's mother), Eduardo (Francisco's brother) and animals. We have been carrying out a permacultural project for more than 4 years, continuously integrating knowledge, and always maintaining the attitude of an apprentice. We consider permaculture as a necessary idea to apply to a new world, for this reason we started this project near Valparaiso, where you can learn different ecological practices and self-sustaining lifestyles. The approach points towards food sovereignty, although with practice, we have realized that it is hard, constant work, and that it must be approached with humility, discipline and joy.

    PS: we ask that please come volunteers who speak some Spanish, because only one person speaks languages.

    Somos una familia, Roswitha, Francisco, Isidora (3 años), Tere (mamá de Francisco), Eduardo (hermano de Francisco) y animales. Hemos estado llevando a cabo un proyecto permacultural hace más de 4 años, integrando saberes continuamente, y siempre manteniendo la actitud de aprendiz. Consideramos la permacultura como una idea necesaria para aplicar para un mundo nuevo, por ese motivo comenzamos este proyecto cerca de valparaiso, donde se puede ir aprendiendo distintas practicas ecológicas, y estilos de vida autosustentables. El enfoque apunta hacia una soberanía alimenticia, aunque con la practica, nos hemos dado cuenta que es un trabajo arduo, constante, y que debe ser abordado con humildad, disciplina y alegría.

    Pd: pedimos que por favor lleguen voluntarios que hablen algo de español, porque solo una persona habla idiomas.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers could learn permaculture practices in the field, how to design and work an orchard, build recycled greenhouses or dry toilets, and as with recycling, you can take a lot of resources, and build many things with these products that for many is just trash. In addition, they can enjoy a pleasant internship in the Chilean countryside, and recharge batteries to continue the trip.
    On the other hand, in the surroundings there are plenty of people who make interesting things, where the volunteers can go to know,and exchange experiences. It is important to bear in mind that it is a large space, so there are plenty of possibilities for volunteers to let their creativity fly and give a lot of ideas to the things that can be done in the project. In addition, we create wood toys and reuse fabrics to make them . Also we do martial arts classes (some taekwondo, karate, judo, etc), weaving workshops and mandalas, where those who want to participate, will be welcome.

    Los voluntarios podrían aprender las prácticas permaculturales en el campo, como diseñar y trabajar una huerta, construir invernaderos reciclados o baños secos, y como con el reciclaje, se pueden aprovechar mucho los recursos, y construir muchas cosas con estos productos que para muchos es solo basura. Además, pueden disfrutar de una plácida pasantía por el campo chileno, y recargar pilas para continuar el viaje.
    Por otra parte, en los alrededores hay harta gente interesante, donde los voluntarios pueden ir a conocer, e intercambiar experiencias. Es importante tener en cuenta que es un espacio grande, así que hay hartas posibilidades para que los voluntarios dejen volar su creatividad y den hartas ideas a las cosas que se puedan hacer en el proyecto. Además, fabricamos juguetes de madera y textiles reciclados, por lo que los voluntarios también pueden aprender y colaborar en la confección. También hacemos clases de artes marciales (un poco de taekwondo, karate, judo, etc), talleres de tejido a telar y mandalas, donde aquellos que quieran participar, serán bienvenidos.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Help with the garden, planting, weeding, with the bioconstructions of the place, beautifying the place with art, help with languages, and in general, field work according to the seasons. In addition, we take advantage of the skills of the volunteers to do workshops on language, music, painting, yoga, dance, photography or other things for the community, and in this way we deliver culture to the children of the area.

    Ayudas con la huerta, siembras, desmalezar, con las bioconstrucciones del lugar, embellecer el lugar con arte, ayuda con idiomas, y en general, labores de campo acorde a las temporadas. Además, aprovechamos las habilidades de los voluntarios para hacer talleres de idioma, música, pintura, yoga, danza, fotografía u otras cosas para la comunidad, y de esta forma entregamos cultura a los niños y niñas de la zona.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    One of us speak a little english, fluent german and spanish. The others only speak spanish. We want to learn more english and practice german. We can always teach our mother language.

  • Accommodation


    The stay is in a tent. The land is large (1.5 hectares), so we have defined camping areas, ecological bathroom, hot water shower and changing room. In addition, we have mattresses to have in the tent and thus make your stay more comfortable.
    Also, we have a campfire space, to share among all.
    As for the daily meals, we share breakfast and lunch, and at dinner, on some occasions we ask everyone for collaboration. The help in the place will be between 3 or 4 hours a day, and they will be pleasant tasks, and generally accompanied. The idea is that you feel like in a temporary family, where laughter, talk and trust abound. We are waiting for you with open arms!

    La estadía es en carpa. El terreno es grande (1,5 hectareas), por lo que tenemos zonas de camping, baño ecológico, ducha con agua caliente y vestuario definidas. Además, contamos con colchones para disponer en la carpa y así hacer más cómoda la estadía.
    También, tenemos un espacio de fogata, para compartir entre todos.
    En cuanto a las comidas diarias, compartimos desayuno y almuerzo, y en las cenas, en algunas ocasiones pedimos colaboración entre todos. La ayuda en el lugar será entre 3 o 4 horas al día, y serán labores gratos, y generalmente acompañados. La idea es que se sienta como en una familia temporal, donde abunden risas, charlas y confianza. ¡Los esperamos con los brazos abiertos!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are aware that work away is a cultural exchange platform, for this reason the jobs that are asked for in return will never be labor exploitations. In the area there are several nice places to visit like Valparaiso, Viña del Mar, Quintay, Tunquén, etc, where we can go to relax and share. We are good people and travelers, and we know how travelers move and the needs they present in long trips. We hope that your stay is very rewarding in knowledge and laughter, so that you continue your journey with more wisdom, and bring to your country knowledge that you can apply to make a better world

    Estamos conscientes que work away es una plataforma de intercambio cultural, por este motivo los trabajos que se piden a cambio nunca serán explotaciones laborales. En la zona hay varios lugares lindos para visitar como Valparaíso, Viña del Mar, Quintay, Tunquén,etc, donde podemos ir para relajarnos y compartir. Somos gente buena onda y viajeros, y sabemos cómo se mueven los viajeros y las necesidades que estos presentan en viajes prolongados. Esperamos que tu estadía sea muy gratificante en conocimiento y risas, para que continúes tu viaje con más sabiduría, y lleves a tu país conocimientos que puedas aplicar para hacer un mundo mejor.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet is not the best, almost not good, only useful for whatsapp. There are a wifi connection at the parents house, that could be available for a couple of hours if the workawayers needed.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have enough space where a campervan or motohome can be park, we had two experiences before that have been succesfull. The entrance to the farm is not very high, because there are trees that cover it, so it is recommended that they do not exceed 3.5 meters

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have animals, dogs, cats and chiken. If you breing your pet, please be carefull that it won't be a problem with our animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 792594959993

Feedback (9)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (5.0)

Great adventures at our hostel, home far from home in Patagonia, Magallanes, Chile
Help work on permaculture and eco-technologies at our educational farm in Maule, Chile