Improving the daily life of a shepherdess in the French Alps

Country

France

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    45
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In the Vercors Regional Nature Park, in the French Alps, we own a dairy sheep farm with my sons (12 and 15 years old). Worried about our animals, sheep, dogs, cats, horses ... our amount of work increased with the presence of the wolf. We would be delighted to have a helping hand at home, mainly in maintenance, possibly in DIY.

    Au sein du Parc Naturel Régional du Vercors, dans les Alpes Françaises, nous possédons avec mes fils (12 et 15 ans) une ferme de brebis laitières. Soucieux de nos animaux, brebis, chiens, chats, chevaux... notre quantité de travail a augmenté avec la présence du loup. Nous serions ravis d'avoir un coup de main à la maison, principalement en entretien, éventuellement en bricolage.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Family a bit noisy but friendly. Wonderful landscapes. Discovery of organic mountain farming. Important associative life in the sector.

    Famille un peu bruyante mais conviviale. Paysages magnifiques. Découverte de l'élevage de montagne bio. Vie associative importante dans le secteur.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    In the first place, we help store and maintain (put the table, wash floors, clean cupboard, dishes, ...) the house that gradually becomes cluttered for lack of time available. Independent person, able to work alone and able to adapt to our rhythm of life a bit disjointed. Ability to make welcome food (we are not difficult).

    En premier lieu, nous aider à ranger et entretenir (mettre la table, laver les sols, nettoyer placard, vaisselle, ...) la maison qui peu à peu s'encombre faute de temps disponible. Personne autonome, capable de travailler seule et sachant s'adapter à notre rythme de vie un peu décousu. Capacité à faire à manger bienvenue (nous ne sommes pas difficiles).

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I lend my son's room (bunk beds) - tent possible at the farm or in the garden in the summer, for more independence. Non-smoking preference (or respectful smoker) and discreet at night. We go to bed early because our days at the farm start early.

    Je prête la chambre de mes fils (lits superposés) - logement en tente possible à la ferme ou dans le jardin l'été, pour plus d'indépendance. Préférence non fumeur (ou fumeur respectueux) et discret le soir. Nous nous couchons tôt car nos journées à la ferme démarrent de bonne heure.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have been welcoming ecotourism, hosting volunteers or agricultural school for 15 years to discover agriculture.

    Nous accueillons dans le cadre de l'écovolontariat, d'école agricole depuis 15 ans pour découvrir l'agriculture.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.



Host ref number: 792481848552