Fun family / home help in stunning setting of the awesome Slocan Valley BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a hard working, fun loving, organized family with a wide range of projects on the go. Steve is an avid outdoorsman, passionate about skiing, mountain biking and anything on the water. A lifelong entrepreneur, he is currently working as CEO of a tech based business. I, Simone, am a metal/ice artist, herbal practitioner, gardener, baker and animal person. Simone's father Carl lives on the same land, is a wonderful metal artist and resource of knowledge.

    We have traveled extensively, the longest period being 2 winters in Panama working at a remote island surf camp, a few months in Portugal and most recently WWOOFing in Hawaii (with kids) for 3 months. We love adventures, connecting with people from all over the world and learning about other cultures.
    Our boys are Arlo aged 2, and Drinnon aged 4 1/2. They are great kids, full of energy and adventurous but listen well and are used to being around other people. They are both easy going, adaptable and happy.

    We live in a stunning post and beam Strawbale house, built by Simone's family. Our property us 15 acres, 2 of them being flat creating a lovely yard/garden area in front of the house. The property backs onto crown land and our backroad leads into the Valhalla Mountain Range.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am happy to share knowledge in baking pastries and sourdough bread, making fermented foods and seasonally preserving foods (late summer/fall). I will also gladly share my knowledge of herbal medicine and animal care. Steve is able to work with others on building projects and share his various building skills.

    We enjoy hosting dinner parties with friends, going out to see live music, and taking in other local cultural events. We would welcome you to join in these social activities.

    The Kootenays are unique, a place that draws both artists and outdoor enthusiasts. We are surrounded by endless outdoor opportunities to take part in, hiking, biking, swimming, kayaking, paddleboarding, sailing, etc, plus there are many artisan/music events that happen throughout summer.

  • Help

    Help

    *Priority will be to host a couple who could help with both childcare and outdoor projects! Possibly open to families :) A single person looking to help with childcare also welcome!

    We are settling back onto family land and reestablishing gardens to work towards self sufficiency. Steve will be working standard business hours and I will be home with the kids and working on the land. Our summer’s projects include:
    -small building projects
    -fencing
    -gardening
    -childcare
    -some animal care (2 pigs, chickens, horse)
    In the ideal situation there would be one person helping with childcare part of the day so that I can focus on outdoor projects.
    We very much welcome couples, with one person keen on childcare, and one keen on other projects.

    Gardening this year will be focused on:
    -fresh veggies for us all to eat
    -re-establishing a permanent garden space, currently overgrown
    -preparing area to plant berries and a small orchard the following summer

    Building projects include:
    -chicken coop
    -rabbit hutches
    -greenhouse
    -outdoor shower
    -fences
    Being an acreage there are ongoing chores such as lawn mowing, cutting/stacking firewood, and general maintenance.

    House tasks are shared when possible, with some expectation for help around meals to the best of your abilities, if not food prep/cooking then clean up. Meals will be a gathering place for daily conversation over good home prepared meals. Our diet is quite varied and non specific to any styles, you can expect good home cooking with veggies, meats, plenty of baked goods, and excellent coffee and tea :) .

    If you are reading this with an interest in childcare, we are looking for someone to playfully engage the kids for part of the day so that I can work kid free. I would always be nearby to help, and our days can be flexible as to when/how things are accomplished. Kid tasks are simply keeping them out of trouble, making/feeding them snacks, reading, playing, crafting, they are pretty easy going so many options to keep them busy. Arlo, the 2 yr old is pretty much potty trained, no diaper duties required.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a well set up 26ft travel trailer for accommodations, plus use of the main house. The trailer is perfect for a couple, a pair of good friends or a single person. It has a double bed, 2 bunk beds, fully functioning kitchen and nearby bathroom accommodations. The location is in a pleasant wooded area near the main house but offers a place to have your own space as you wish. There may be room in the house available at times as well, though the trailer offers a pleasant escape and will likely suit most people.
    Most meals will take place in the main house’s courtyard. You are encouraged to enjoy your own breakfast in the travel trailer (ingredients provided) but join the family for most lunches and dinners.

    As mentioned above, contributing time in the kitchen is encouraged around meals, we love good tunes and social cooking together. My father Carl often joins for meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many things to do in your time off besides relax in the beautiful environment reading in a hammock.. we are at the base of the Valhalla Mountains, so hiking, biking, camping, climbing, water activities on the surrounding lakes and rivers such as swimming, paddleboarding, canoeing etc. The river is 5 min drive from the house, and if you are brave there is a creek a few min walk from the house for a cold plunge. Nelson is our closest town, 35 min drive and is an great place to explore with many markets and beach side activities. There is a bus service that runs 4 times a day to and from Nelson, and up to Slocan (further beaches, hikes and cultural activites). The bus stop is a 20 min bike ride from the house. Having your own transportation is ideal, the Slocan Valley has a lot of good opportunities to take part in and rides will sometime be possible, having your own vehicle creates more opportunities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 6 days a week

Host ref number: 792343591424