Help us in building our eco-friendly log home in Saskatchewan

Country

Canada

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/12/2017

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have been farming 850 acres of organic cereals, legumes and oil seeds (Spelt, French Green lentils, Brown flax) for over 20 years. We also have our own cleaning plant : we clean, bag and export our products to Europe and the States.

    For the past 7 years, we have been building our own log house and doing everything ourselves with very little help. Our aim is to be self-suficient (wind, solar and geothermal). Last summer, we finished the masonry fireplace and the roof. We are starting to install our recycled hardwood floors and hope to put our windows in the fall. This summer, we will be sanding and preserving the exterior walls, landscaping around the house and building stairs when we are not in the field or the garden.

    In the summer, we have laying hens, cats and dogs to take care of. We have apple trees, choke cherry trees, black and red current, Seabuckthorn and raspberries which we harvest in August and September to make our own jams, jellies and syrups. We have a large garden to weed and care for as well as 10 000 trees we have planted over the years that need some trimming or replacing.

    French is our mother tongue, but English and spanish is also spoken fluently. Some German is spoken. Musicians are welcome : we have a century-old piano and our children play fiddle and flute. We are a homeschooling family. Anyone interested in sharing their knowledge to our 2 children, aged 12 and 10, is welcome!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    So, from farming, to building, masonry,gardening, landscaping, canning, homeschooling and jamming sessions (pardon the pun!), there is room for all the talents, interests and strong arms in the world!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our house with our family, or in our camper/trailer/boat house/tent, or bring your own accommodation

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small cabin at Lac Pelletier, wich is 30 minutes South of Swift Current and 30 minutes from our farm. Our farm is located 15 minutes North-West of a little town called Ponteix. This town has all the services. We travel twice a week to Swift Current for groceries and sports/music.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    from 5 to 8 hours



Host ref number: 791684727396