Gers - away from it all - helping us restore our beautiful house - Ladeveze-Riviere, France

Country

France

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    191

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, We are James and Sue, we are about to launch into a brand new phase of our lives as our boys have grown up and left home. We have taken ownership of a house James's parents have owned since 2000. We are making a huge lifestyle change and going to live in Gascony to run the house as a Pilates/yoga retreat, birthday, art, bridge, walkers venue. This spring we give up our jobs and move to France and we are doing some work on the house including making a beautiful studio out of one of the existing barns. The house is gorgeous - its got 6 bedrooms and mostly you enjoy the sound of silence with the odd tractor passing by. You can enjoy walking, cycling, running around here with views of the Pyrenees. We are surrounded by farmland and rural bliss. So if you want bars/nightlife this isn't for you.. But if you want to experience rural France, and traditional local markets - tons of fresh air then this might be what you are looking for.
    You will need to get yourself here, a car is a necessity if you want to get out and about. We have a dog - who is very friendly.
    We love cooking and the local wine, we enjoy playing cards & watching movies. I teach Pilates and love to run with the dog - Dotty although she's a bit slow now! James enjoys cycling.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want to switch off from the world then this is your chance... you have to opportunity to exist away from it all - peace, tranquility, nature, farmland, silence. We will be a multicultural community whilst we are working - English, Belgian, French.
    There is much to see and visit in the area, including beautiful villages with weekly markets, the Pyrenees mountains are in view and about an hour away by car and beautiful cities including Lourdes, Auch, Toulouse, Biarritz, Bordeaux all accessible

  • Help

    Help

    We need some help to get the jobs done and also to look after the builders and the dog, not necessarily in that order. Some gardening work, cleaning and general maintenance, furniture moving and restoring, painting and decorating, washing bed covers.. repainting the whole house and upgrading the facilities. We could do with some help for 3-6 weeks. This would probably suit a couple or 2 friends travelling together. Start date from 06/04/18. End date 12/05/18

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom - twin/double and access to a bathroom (mostly only you using the bathroom - but may be necessary to share) within the 6 bed house. The kitchen is shared and there are 2 salons. You will be provided with bed linen and towels and full board in return for your help. You are welcome to cook for yourself (at your own expense) or to join with the meals and contribute to this by helping with preparation and clearing up etc...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We haven't hosted volunteers before but have both worked abroad extensively - we met working in French ski resorts many, many years ago. We enjoy other peoples' company - we are naturally early risers and hard workers - we love cooking and socialising over food and local wine, card games, films.I enjoy running and James cycling - you are welcome to join us! We have 2 sons aged 21 & 23 respectively and hugely enjoy their company and the company of their friends. We had au pairs of many nationalities staying with us as our boys grew up - over about 8 years.

    There are bicycles available for your use - if you are good at repair of these that would be amazing.... as some are in a poor state!! No public transport anywhere near and taxis are fearfully expensive. So own car, bike or foot are the only forms of transport

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 791442982271