Volunteer at our Eco Project farm & help us renovate our wood log cabin near the Red River in Harrington, Quebec

Country

Canada

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our Eco Project! We are a young couple, our names are Lala and Faisal, and we recently got about an acre of land with a house in a valley in the Laurentian mountain range of Quebec. The area we live in is residential and agricultural, isolated with no cell phone connection or gas stations within a 30 mins drive. Self-sustainability has always been our vision and now we are on the journey to pursue our vision. We will be working to transform our current home into an more eco friendly house. Also, Faisal comes from a tradition of Yurt making which is why we started building one to use as a greenhouse. Our aspirations for it is to grow fresh, organic produce for our family as we have a baby on the way. We want to spread the knowledge of what you eat is what you are and the benefits of organic home grown produce!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Between the two of us, we speak English, French, Armenian, Persian, and Hindi, if you'd like to, you can practice any of these languages with us. We can show you how to cook traditional Middle Eastern, Persian, and Indian meals. We're both travelers and have lots of stories from around the world to share with you around the campfire!
    As we are yogic practitioners, we would like to welcome people who are open to learning meditation and yoga.

  • Help

    Help

    People will be encouraged to be as creative as they can in all the projects they're involved in here: cooking, building, gathering wood, and gardening.
    The projects you can get involved in:
    •Renovating the log cabin
    •Bringing down small outdoor cabins
    •General maintenance of the land
    •Gardening and cutting grass
    •Learn the art of Yurt making

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Persian (Farsi): Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Armenian: Fluent
    Hindi: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will be renovating the house, but we can still use the bathroom, fireplace, kitchen. There is only one room in the cabin where we sleep, the workawayers can sleep in tents anywhere in our 1 acre land. You will learn to cook your meals using different spices and legumes, as we are pescatarians. You should also bring with you some more food supply for any specific preferences.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Learn self-reliance on these beautiful and mostly untouched valleys of the Laurentian Mountains. We are just a 20 minutes car ride from the Red River and its sandy shores, where you can take a dip! To be able to get around here, you have to have your own vehicule.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 791327725229