Live sustainably with alpacas and grow wild blueberries in beautiful Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 235 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Namaste! Thank you for stopping by. :-) I hope you will join me on my journey for a month, 2 months, or long-term.

    **The province of Nova Scotia has implemented rigorous restrictions to control the spread of covid 19. Your point of origin and your willingness to self-isolate will have some bearing on whether I can host you. Ideally, I'd like workawayers who have already been inside Nova Scotia for 14 days and who have self-isolated already. Restrictions are easing, though.**

    I have a pair of picturesque, riverfront hobby farms, each with a large 4-bedroom house. I am transitioning the farms to more of a communal space with plans for an ashram / yoga retreat / wellness centre in one of the houses.

    There are three acres of wild blueberries that I want to convert to organic production, six acres of pasture, and about eight acres of woods that provide more than enough firewood to heat both homes without having to clear-cut any areas. I have a small herd of alpacas! I would like some help with them and with creating beautiful alpaca fibre items. :-)

    In the past, I harvested a small portion of my food from the property, and my vision is to increase that slowly and steadily every year. Some of the new areas of activity that I want to undertake (once the right long-term partners/cohabitants are found) are:
    -bee-keeping (which will also help pollinate the blueberry field)
    -developing blueberry condiments and other blueberry products
    -permaculture
    -large vegetable and herb gardens
    -alternative, renewable energy to reduce our dependence on the grid
    -art studio, as there are a lot of tourists here in the summer
    -occasionally playing a bit with my beautiful little children when they are here and, if you are non-English, maybe teaching them a few words of your language

    So....I need people (short or long term) with the following skills - or at least an interest in these things:
    -animal care
    -general farm labour
    -fibre arts (processing the alpaca fibre and making things from it)
    -a passion for yoga and meditation, to help me develop and put on programs for guests at the ashram

    ...and it is always nice to have some company, instead of just me and my sweet cat roaming around this enormous house.

    If you were to stay long-term, I would give you a share of the farm profits. As far as permanent partners go, I would love to have one person in charge of the animals, one person in charge of fibre production, and one person in charge of additional activities/revenue streams.

    If/when the two homes ever become full, I plan to start building tiny homes on the property.

    I am amenable to stays as short as three weeks, but I prefer at least a month (or longer, if it turns out that we really have good chemistry). In fact, if someone shares my long-term vision for the homestead, the ashram, and the intentional community that I want to build, I am amenable to them staying permanently. :-) I want to live happily ever after with about 5 or 6 kindred spirits.

    I am LGBT friendly (am personally pansexual and polyamorous).

    I have been vegetarian and try my best to cater to dietary restrictions. Both houses are strictly non-smoking. If you are a smoker, you'd better have an amazing profile...lol.

    I always needed 2-3 workawayers here at the beginning of June for the annual shearing of the alpacas...it's a strenuous day that needs a few extra pairs of hands. I also need extra help in the first half of September, as I participate in Open Farm Day, where the public can come to see the alpacas.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Rural Nova Scotia is a beautiful place with a lot of history. Travellers can learn about alpacas and their fibre, as well as raising poultry and cultivating blueberries.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with the animals (alpacas and chickens, when I get them restocked), gardens, blueberry field, woods, stacking firewood, painting, renovations, and some light house-keeping. There are chores suited to people with a lot of physical strength and also other chores that require less strength, such as working with our alpaca fibre.

    Helping out with routine household chores - such as a bit of cooking, cleaning, or dishes - shouldn't be considered part of your five hours for the day.

    If you are interested in farm-sitting, I might go to Ontario to visit relatives for the second half of your stay.

    Long-term, these are the roles I want to fill, if we have amazing chemistry with one another. The 6 roles are:
    -fibre artist (to spin, knit, and make other fibre products)
    -livestock keeper (to take care of the alpacas and poultry)
    -gardener/forager (to garden and harvest the property and the woods)
    -handyperson (to keep things fixed and machines running)
    -beekeeper/blueberry cultivator (to start/maintain the hives and convert the blueberries to organic)
    -forester (to harvest firewood, lumber, and craft wood and to keep the woods healthy)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom. Breakfast you can prepare yourself, lunch is usually leftovers from the day before, and I cook dinner every day. Feel free to offer to help with dinner, but I will usually decline the offer. :) I feed my workawayers very well (as you can see in the reviews), but if there are special/expensive beverages, fruits, etc., e.g., herbal tea, oat milk, gluten-free bread, that you want, you should bring them with you or get them in town on your days off. Similarly, the shower dispenser always has body wash and shampoo, but please bring your own toothpaste and other toiletries, creams, and make-up.
    Internet is available in the evenings, after all work has been completed. Being out in the boonies, internet is very limited and sporadic. If you need regular internet with a lot of bandwidth, you should have a data plan on your phone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am 15-20 minutes from 3 very nice towns, half an hour away from the Joggins Fossil Cliffs, and 20-30 minutes away from various points on the Bay of Fundy. Lots to do and see, if you have your own vehicle (no public transit here). If you want to use your days off to travel to Halifax, Charlottetown, etc., and you don't have your own vehicle, it means you need to plan your day-off trips to coincide with times that I am driving to town (unless you are comfortable hitch-hiking). :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 789567912112