Dream deserted house in the mountains..Rachitele, Cluj, România

Country

Romania

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/12/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello friends from all over the world!
    We are a family of three, 41 years old me, my 7 years old Nora and my 9 years old Ian. We are in love with nature and animals. Almost two years ago something good took me over and I bought a wooden house in the mountains. A house that cannot be used. At least, by humans :). We have some bats living inside and every time I go there my kids make sure to tell me not to disturb them. The minute I stepped on this land I felt that I found something special. It has almost 8 ha of land, water on it (that also my neighbours use), some trees, everything you need..
    I hoped to start working on the house this spring to spend the summer there with family, friends and others who want to enjoy a remote place in the middle of nature with respect and love for local flora and fauna. I bought this place for my soul, for earths health, for insects and other creatures that live in this area. So conservation and keeping it clean is a big part of my dream.
    Last time I was there it was a very sad visit because some locals were cutting the trees on my property. It is pretty far from where I live in the city and people treat it like a abandoned property. I want to change that and make it a home for us and others that want to keep it clean and understand its value from this point of view. I am kept in the city most of the time because of school. Next spring I intend to go there and clean the walls, prepare the house for renovation using what I can save from it and then use other natural materials.
    It is a lot of work. I also have to find a solution for the bats, make a shelter for them.
    Have to renovate also a fallen oven, a wooden barn.
    Make a reservoir for water, an ecological toilet.
    Right now there are no conditions there. And the only accomodation possible is with a tent. The road to the house is not very accesibile. I am not very sure what to begin with so if there is anyone that resonates with this project and want to travel to the Apuseni mountains in România to join us we will be so happy for the help.
    PS : We have water snakes there and maybe other types too.
    So this is hard to reach place that has a neigbour 200m away and the rest is wilderness.

    Before We go there in the spring, we also need help with everyday life here in Voluntari, Pipera near Bucharest. With the kids, pets, garden.. With our German, French and English, with music practice and musical theory, with reading lots of books, with painting and drawing every single day. Art is more important than food. I hope Ian and Nora can meet beautiful and relaxed people to become familiar with different humans and ways of existing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can learn together about the mountain life in the area and how to buid and save and preserve what possible. The place has so much to offer: cascade, mountains, forests, animals.
    Also, my kids are interested in music. Nora started to learn piano and Ian cello, guitar, bass guitar. We also have drums in the city.
    I am all absorbed with raising them so not a lot about me left to tell in this period of my life.

  • Help

    Help

    I would need help with the renovation of the house. I am not sure about the exact steps. Once the snow is gone I have to clean the walls, check the wood, clean the place and decide what way to go. I am on my own in this project so counseling would be great if you have experience with renovating old houses. My budget is pretty low and I have to do lots of stuff by myself. I am ready for it.
    In the meantime we are right beside Bucharest, going to school, We have 3 cats, 2 dogs, plants and our door is open and we have a spare bedroom.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    First accomodation will be in tent and soon after in the house.
    Everyone will have the same regime :). I can provide a 2-3 people tent. Also, after a room is done is available for sleeping. One of the rooms has the walls already clean so it will be ready sooner.

    We will eat together mostly local food that We prepare together. I will provide the ingredients.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is Rachitele, Cluj, România.
    Transport is possible only by car and I can drop you off somewhere with infrastructure. We can explore together. You can explore the woods, flora, search for mushrooms, berries.
    I also plan at some point to bring my telescope.
    I am into astrophotography.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 788788824542