Help on our English and Chinese language center in Ubon ratchathani, Thailand



Favourited 119 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    I am a 37-year-old teacher from Thailand. I had been a teacher in Bangkok teaching Thai to foreigners and English to Thai students since my graduation in 2000 . Then I lived in China for further Chinese study for 2 years in 2013-2014 and traveled to North and South America in 2015 before coming back home.

    I now live in Ubon ratchathani in the north east of Thailand where I think I should be able to fully apply my knowledge, abilities, and experiences as a teacher. I would like to set up my own school here therefore I spend most of my time working at home developing language curriculum for it and for selling as a franchise (both English and Chinese ) . I am very new in this area and what I have is just an empty building with a few students so if you have any idea of how to promote and run a business, developing a language curriculum, franchising, leading us through a branding workshop, creating and writing a business strategy as a language school, teaching English or Chinese to students, designing our school logo, decorating the place, computer graphic, etc then you are more than welcome!!

    You will enjoy watching different life styles here and you will enjoy being watched by the locals too since they are not very familiar with foreigners. As a volunteer you'll be part of our community and have the chance to take Thai classes at a discount to better help you connect to Ubon and get to have a proper experience. (Oh there are Thai massage classes available at a discount as well, a plus isn't it?)

    I want our school to work with the community: helping set up a cultural center, teaching English and Chinese through any activities eg. yoga or music, riding with local cycling groups, and working with some charity work in the temples. I want to do even more, so if you like to get involved in local community and want to help build our network I welcome you.

    Regarding my personal self, although I enjoy my private time reading , thinking and doing my own stuff but I also like to travel and meet people around the world exchanging ideas and experiences . I am an evening person, meaning I normally stay up really late and wake up around 11-12. Most of the time not for parties , but for my own stuff like working on the computer, thinking , planing, working out, etc. I love dancing, pilates, yoga, and swimming which I am trying to do on a regular basis so if you practice those, we will have a lot to do together. I had a few lessons of Tango in Argentina and Salsa in Cuba before and I am very bad at it. ;) I am also interested in photography , cooking, music and arts although I have never invested my time studying it seriously but I enjoy people who love them too. Feel free to share your experiences if you do have some! I am looking forward to sharing mine too!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Isaan culture is very unique . Mingling with them is even more interesting. The Ubon people are not very familiar with foreigners so they will be curious to know about the life outside their world. Plus I have some students who will be more than willing to practice their English and Chinese with you.

    Moreover, I plan to do language activities through community work with students at universities and schools around here so you will learn a lot through these activities you have with them. There will be students from age 5 - 18 or above , so make sure you have enough patience and love to entertain your students especially kids ,and smile a lot. You are in the land of smile!

    My friends and my sister live here so you will get to see how we actually live on a daily basis. I can show you around town on days off. I am very excited to show you our true cultures. :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    As mentioned above, I am setting up a language school and hope to do it as franchise ,if you have any idea of how to run a business, developing a language curriculum , franchising, leading us through a branding workshop, creating and writing a business strategy as a language school, teaching English or Chinese to students, designing our school logo, decorating the place, computer graphic, etc then you are more than welcome!! Of course nobody can do all these by themselves so please feel free to let me know what you can do and we will discuss it from there.

    Below are some examples of the help needed. please be sure to include the following in your email.

    *What you could help with from the list below?
    *What are your professional background and skills?
    *How long you are available to stay for?
    *Why do you want to work with us in particular?

    ****English and Chinese language instructors****
    3-5 weeks minimum commitment.
    Teach Chinese or English (So we need people who speak Chinese OR English fluently)
    Develop our educational materials to advance our curriculum
    Work with community manager to promote events to students and organization
    If you can integrate your interest with the language you teach and turn it to language learning activities ,
    that will be a plus.
    eg English with yoga or games, English through movies,
    Learning Chinese through music and dance,
    Chinese Calligraphy (书法), Chinese Paper cutting ( 剪纸),
    other cultural aspects are also very welcome.

    ****Community Manager****
    3-5 weeks minimum commitment.
    Promote local events to students and organize outings
    work with small budget to put on fun community events
    Run our "afternoon study lounge" for Thai students that need homework help

    ****Marketing and Content ****
    3-5 weeks minimum commitment.
    Experience in Online Marketing Required
    Manage Social Media Pages
    Blogging, website copy, and SEO

    ****Program Specialist ****
    3-5 weeks minimum commitment.
    Help develop our educational materials to advance our curriculum
    Special projects developing our modern curriculum
    Be available during class to help teachers

    Interested in painting a mural in the school? We also take painters to help make our school beautiful :)
    Apart from this, if you can sing or play any musical instruments and thinking it can be beneficial for learning languages , that would be awesome!!

    Normal hours of work are normally in the afternoon or weekends with 2 days off each week depending on the work itself. The exact time is flexible as is the amount of week and they can be discussed. In exchange we provide accommodation, access to our spaces, and a part in our growing community.
    All of the positions mentioned above are in English and Chinese.

    Looking forward to working with you!! :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Thai: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Bunk-beds with a fan, free wifi, hot shower. Meals are provided on your working days. We like spicy food and like to try new recipes if you wanna share yours. :) But don't be scared of the spicy, Thai food has lots of variety to choose from!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ubon ratchathani (shortly UBON) is a province next to the border of Laos. There are not many foreign tourists here therefore it is an ideal place for people who would like to explore the authentic culture of the north eastern part (locally called Isaan ) of Thailand. There are plenty of beautiful temples around town including Wat Phra That Nong Bua and Wat Nong Pah Phong, the homage to Ajahn Chah, which is about 10 km away.

    There are lots of good food which is a mixture between Vietnamese food and Thai Isaan food everywhere since our love for food is very strong. The fresh market next to the Big Moon river that runs through our town is located only 10 minutes away from my home. The big park ,Thung Sri Muang, in the center of town is just a few blocks away with plenty of food from 5 pm onward. The locals enjoy doing sports there including aerobic exercise and dancing classes.

    There is also a night market every weekends next to it. There is Song-Taew, a local transportation, going everywhere in town including groceries stores nearby from morning until 5 pm for 10 baht. A taxi is cheap , it is only 20 baht to call them and you pay by meter.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day. 5 days a week, 2 days off

Host ref number: 788434688455