Family looking for community in Serra da Estrela

Country

Portugal

Favourited 160 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/12/2018

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are Tom (47 from Belgium) and Blanche (48 dutch/spanish) We grew up in Belgium and Holland and live in Portugal for 22 and 14 years. Our children are:Michel (22) and Luka (10) We live in a small farm in a beautiful environment in the middle of Portugal close to the Serra da Estrela. We built our own tiny wooden house, cabin, tool shed and stables. We constructed a wooden platform with a tipi on top to house helpers. We are totally off the grid. Electricity comes from a small 2 panel solar system and we have our own well on top of the land so the water for all our use comes down with natural gravity.
    We got 2 vegetable gardens and a big glasshouse, several (medicine) herb gardens and planted loads of fruit trees. We are planting a fruit forest garden and recently dug a huge pond for water storage.We made artificial wetlands to clean our greywater and are building a decent compost toilet now (while the one we use now is a very simple design). We also would like to built a hydro generator in the river to help filling up our batteries on rainy days (weeks).
    We are turning the place into a permaculture based mini farm where a small group of people can live and work together in the most possible self sufficient way. Where we can look after eachother and enjoy a simple, but warm and rewarding lifestyle in which we keep our ecological footprint as low as possible. We keep milking goats and have many years experience with cheese making.. We have chickens, 5 dogs,4 cats, a potbelly pig, horses and guinea pigs.We also keep honeybees. We eat organic, vegetarian food and are slowly making our transition to vegan.
    Tom is a barefoot specialist for horses. He makes the transition from iron horseshoes back to natural bare feet and makes them sound and healthy again. He saved many horses this way.And making a decent living with it too.
    After trying to live more self-sufficiently as a family for some years we understood that our lifestyle is much more logical, sustainable and enjoyable if lived in a small group of several families and/or individuals. We are aiming for sharing the work and care for eachother as well as tools, cars and all other kind of materials.There are many forms of community possible, which we are interested to explore.
    We have been working with volunteers for 3 years non stop now and we are looking for a more equal and sustainable way of living and working together with other people.We would like to invite people who are looking for this lifestyle and want to stay with us for longer periods, like 3 months at least. People who are more independent than the average volunteer. . People that are ready to live in balance and peace with their environment, nature, other people and animals in SIMPLICITY. People who are ready to put our differences aside and focus on what we can achieve together.People who are aware of their own and other peoples need for privacy. People who already have experience in this way of living and take responsibility for their own life. This doesn't mean that you necessarily need to have lots of money and you also do not need to 'buy in' our project. We can speak about how to deal with these things. Maybe you want to settle temporarily (or for good) on our land and we will grow food together, maybe you want to buy land close to our farm and start to work and share together with us. On our land there are still two ruins for rebuilding and around our farm there are several plots for sale.
    The environment is beautiful for walking, hiking, cycling etc.and there is a big foreign community of people settling in this area that are involved in creating a sustainable lifestyle, farming, permaculture, building with natural material, wool spinning, basket weaving, music, arts, pottery , Yoga, Tai Chi, natural medicine and healing, awareness, meditation, women- and men groups etc
    Pls contact us if you are interested in our project.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    The daily routine is collecting and cutting firewood, feeding, cleaning and taking care of the animals, milking the goats, making cheese. Working in the garden, weeding, harvesting, watering and everything that needs to be done at the moment, reparing fences etc

    Our next big projects are: building a decent 2 stories, double compartment compost toilet. rebuilding our ruins.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch English Portugese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The Cabin seperate room out of wood next to our house with woodstove and wash stand, we share shower and compost toilet.
    The Tipi in the fruit forest a 100 metres from our house, with woodstove.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a beautiful area if you love nature. There is also a big community of foureighn, alternative people all trying to build a more self sustainable way of life. We are looking for people that want to stay extended, or even for good with us or close to us (for example buying land around our farm)
    The minimum time for helpers to stay at our farm is three weeks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 6 days a week



Host ref number: 787442241572