Join our family and help around our home and kids in Zweisimmen, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

updated  

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (We can only take people with an EU/EFTA citizenship because of Swiss employment law)

    Hey Workawayers!
    Welcome to our farm (also couples are welcome). We are a young family with 4 boys (2015, 2017, 2018, 2020), living up in the Swiss Mountains (Zweisimmen) where we have together with my brother/my borther in law (and his family) our organic farm. We have mainly sheep for milking and we are manufacturing our own yogurt, cheese and milk products directly here on the farm. All these products we try to sell in our region. In summer there is a big garden where we produce our own vegetables. For higher self-sufficiency we also plant about 4-5 ares of potatoes. We are very much interested in permaculture and try to adapt those principles in our gardening and vegetable growing.
    We love life and we like a lot to have people from all over the world around us and getting to know them!

    We live about 20 minutes by foot from the village (where you can find some stores and restaurants) and from the train station. It's a great region for outdoor sports. In winter you find ski lifts and slopes as well as places for cross country skiing and sledding. In summer it is a beautiful area for hiking and all kinds of outdoor activities.
    We are followers of Jesus Christ and we try to follow His teachings we can find in the Bible. If you are interested to know more about Jesus or the Bible, we are open to share with you about it. Nevertheless we are open to meet people with another religious background and with different opinions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experince the Swiss Mountins in its beauty! It is just an amazing place to be. See how life is on a farm up in the mountains with steep land and get to know the culture of rural Switzerland. Join a family with livley boys and a big heart for others! Lets learn from each other!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    You like cooking, childcare and housekeeping? Great, then this would be a big help.
    Useful is also help for gardening (not in winter) and landscape help. If you have enlarged knowledge in constructions we have some projects you could work on or even take complete responsibility for it. Having some practical skills is anyway helpful on our farm. In summer you would help with hay harvest. If you are interested in seeing how we milk our sheep or how we produce our cheese, you are welcome to join us and take a look! Anyway we talk together about what kind of things you could help and what would be of your interest.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our mobile home - your housing! You would stay in the heated mobile home. It is a cozy place even on colder days. You have a big bed, a table and a small kitchen where you can cook your tea or your coffee. The bathroom is in the house, so you would need to walk a few meters for showering or using the toilet. Breakfast, lunch and dinner we all eat together. If you wish to cook something from time to time on your own you can do so. There is no running water in the mobile home - a canister with clean water is provided!

    If we have several people staying with us, you would have your room in Grandma's appartement - old fashioned but lovely!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet connection is not the fastest. As long as you do not stream movies or have big uploads the connection should work fine.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There should be enough space to parc your campervan - please ask first if you are planing to come by camper!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 786868965385