Stay with us in the Emmental, learn about permaculture, natural living with children and downsizing in Switzerland



Favourited 261 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    We are a family of 5 with 3 active boys (in an adoption process for two girls) and a small dog that keep us busy 😊 We live in the stunning country side of Switzerland close to the cities of Solothurn and Bern... in the Emmental...yes! Where the famous cheese comes from 🧀!!! We are always striving to live a more natural, consumption free, mother earth loving live with less stress, less waste and less stuff.

    We are an active family who love to get out and about as much as we can and visit the beautiful places here in Switzerland, especially the mountain regions and we always enjoy having some company.
    It would be lovely to have some help around the house (cleaning tidying) and with the kids and right now especially with our garden/outdoor projects... and of course our doggy Sofia! We have a veg and berry garden that is ever expanding (fingers crossed) 😜 If you are skilled in permaculture that would be awesome!!!! 🌲 (but not a problem if you are not)

    As a family we finally realized our dream and in April 2019 we moved into a Farm house on an active Organic Biodiversity farm. The owner is a great guy who lives by the rules of creating a more variety rich environment and we are so happy to settle here now. The house is a wonderfully old iconic Swiss "Riegelhaus" next to an all wood main farm building. This picturesque scene is surrounded by woodland, acres of wild flower medows, free roaming chickens, a lot of birds and bats, two wonderful farm gardens (ours is a Permaculture one) and grazing Schottish Galloway cows.

    We would love to get a personal message from you as we have 3 small children (soon 5 as we are in a running adoption process!) and it is a privilege to open our house but we want to be safe and for people who want to stay with us to show a little extra effort. So if you really do read our Profile, please mention in your message what your favourite vegetarian/vegan dish is, and we will welcome you on your first day of workawaying with that dish 😊

    Public transport is excellent in switzerland (although a bit pricey) and we are more than happy to take you with us on outings if we go places. As we do not need you to work all the time we are always happy for you to go and explore whenever you have free time.

    You will have your own room (mostly! As the kids are always so excited to have visitors that at the beginning boundries are a bit blurred 😬) and a private en suite bathroom (old but private *️️lol*️️) and free use of our vegetarian/vegan kitchen 😊 (and of course WIFI)
    We can usually only have one or two workawayers at the time but in summer we have more options to host more people at the same time so do contact us and ask, we really truly love and live the Workaway experience 😊

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can give you a very loving and open environment and you can learn about natural child raising, homeschooling or unschooling, vegetarian/vegan cooking, music (my husband is in a band and I jodel in a folcloric choir), sewing, crafting, preserving, Permaculture gardening, Biodiversity. We love to spend time hiking, taking trips around switzerland and enjoy the breathtaking nature here 😊 Since we started a family we are also actively downsizing and doing things ourselves (clothes, food, household products etc.) for 10 years now, have less - live more!

  • Help


    -Spend time with the kids and speak english or spanish to them (if you can 😜)
    -Teaching in a very free kind of way (more mentoring than teaching)
    -Babysitting (occasionally when I need to work)
    -Permaculture garden and surrounding projects (like wood chopping, pond work, woodwork, weeding, planting)
    -Housework (washing, cleaning, maybe cooking, preserving, handcrafts, food production)
    -Walk and/or groom our doggy 🐶 😜

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation


    Private room and en suite bathroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are more than happy to assist you with any trips you would like to do, drive you to the closest station if we have time. We are really flexible and helpful if you need our help with something we can always assist!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our wonderful home 🏡 ❤️
Your room (the bed can also be a double if needed) 😊
The Permaculture garden in the making 🌱
Our family @ christmas 2018
We visited the Aletsch Glacier ❄️
SOFIA our cute little doggie 🐶
We love traveling around Switzerland 🇨🇭

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 366775218631