Help us create our dream retreat center at our Artists-owned Villa in Vollezele, Belgium

Country

Belgium

updated  

Favourited 67 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone,

    We are Laura and Jacob, Italian and French, 31 and 27 years old.
    We met in Australia 5 years ago, during these years we've been introduced to volunteering, met many wonderful people and discovered beautiful locations. We're both into photography and video-making:

    We now would like to host and received people who like nature and have common interests. For a long time, this place has been a writer residency, receiving writers from all over the world, where they found the clarity and inspiration they so much needed. We now would like to open the doors to new vision, organizing all sorts of interesting retreats and workshops. We would like to create an atmosphere where people feel at home and be mindful of this beautiful nature.

    Come and enjoy the arty environment, we have hectares of forest with gigantic beach trees, you can walk around the property and found yourself alone in a quiet setting. The rustic house will make you travel in time, we have a large triangular where we usually movie nights with a beamer. The house is composed of many bedrooms and bathrooms (+ Sauna), tv room, a large kitchen, a living room with a library and a large table to seat and enjoy meals outside. All rooms in the house carry different energy and memory.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience first hand what it is like to live in our home, it is a space for people to unplug, think, create, do the inner healing work, connect with nature and each other.

    Travelers who come here will benefit from the energy of the place, they will learn to work with their hands, to work the land, to enjoy nature and themselves.

    We both have traveled extensively and love learning and sharing about different cultures. We have made so many close friends during our volunteering time, and have learned so much from them about life, hopefully, we would like to do the same for our guests.

    15min train from Bruxelles, you'll be able to go and visit the Belgian capital.

    We'll be happy to make you improve your French, English or Italian with us.

    Experience first hand how to cook simple and delicious vegetarian or vegan meals.

    We are involved in making art, you will found around stone/clay sculpture, ceramic objects, wood printed images and photography. We would love to teach you what we know.

  • Help

    Help

    We are planning a period to receive helpers from the 07/10 till the 17/10.

    • Looking for people that can help with our orchard, in October we will have apples ready to pick, after that, we should make tons of juice for the year.

    • We need to clean up wood all around and pick some up for the coming winter.

    • Our landscape is in constant need of love and care, helping out with the garden and general chores around the house are needed to keep it look beautiful.

    • At some point this winter we will also be focusing on refreshing our main house, this means painting the rooms, changing the atmosphere and furniture.

    • Jacob is a cook and Laura is talented in the kitchen, you can learn and be of help in the preparation of meals.

    • We are always looking for people with skills: website designer, project manager & business planner but also farmers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English - French - Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The authentic and comfortable main house includes many bedrooms and bathrooms. You will have your own private room with a shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When guests come here, we invite them to join our family meals. We eat mostly vegan/vegetarian food and provide light fare for breakfast, lunch, and snacks if desired. Any help is received in gratitude and service. Thank you.

    From the Airport or Bruxelles, you can take the train to Enghien/Edingen which is 20min away.
    I can come and pick you up there.

    Bikes, Sauna, Ping-Pong, Hiking Trail

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 786566418893