Help us create an eco home in a national heritage site in Calvia, Spain

Country

Spain

new host  

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have just taken on a project in the mountains of sierra de tramuntana, Its a national heritage site and we have set out to rebuild the house as an eco home and restore the land to be able to grow food and live with animals, we want to start reusing and recycling as much as we can to create a self sustainable farm. This project is very early on so i am looking for some people who are up for learning and building something right from the start, this will include designing and building a watering system that runs from the 100 meter deep well into a pond where we have some fish. After that the water is taken and past through a fertigation system where the water is mixed with worm castings and other organic materials to bring the nutrients right to the root of the plants where it is needed. we also have over 100 food producing trees which helped me realise that this place is perfect but they need some work to restore them back to health.

    We have a large motorhome on the land for guests to stay comfortably, with a full kitchen and bathroom, as you may know that wet rooms with showers stay wet for very long so we have a separate bathroom for showering and we have already started building the next bathroom. All of our gray water has been redirected into a new area i am building which will filter the waste water and use it to create food and water the trees so we can be more eco friendly. All of our soaps are natural and we use all eco friendly detergents all around the house, so if you have any experience making any of these products we would love to learn.

    We live with our pug cross chihuahua who is full of life and loves to play and we have just taken on an english bulldog who loves everybody, currently we have 6 chickens as well as 7 homing pigeons that we have given a home to. there are many birds around in the trees and we hope that as we expand the farm we can accomodate more birds and more animals will join

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you will be learning about how to start a farm from bare essentials, learn how to design an eco project using permaculture methods by regenerating soils, creating ground cover to store water and protect the land from sun damage. you will learn about diagnosing tree diseases and curing our trees preparing for winter and giving them the minerals and water storage that they need. I also speak fluent spanish for those who wish to learn or practice their language skills

  • Help

    Help

    we will be creating and building new things everyday from finishing off the water treatment system, making new beds all over the land to grow foods and planting new trees, we will be planting new imported seeds and trying to find new plants that people dont grow here, in the next few months we will be working on the trees to give them a protection and get them all ready for next spring when they will jump into action and start creating new branches which we will use with a method of air layering to clone the trees so we can double or even triple the amount of amazing food producing trees, we have chickens and are going to be building them a new home so they can live happily and we will be getting some new types of chickens to help us creating amazing compost for the new grow beds and some amazing new types off eggs

    as we have just started we are not fully sustainable but we hope in the near future we will be able to eat and feed others from our land until we have built enough beds to swap foods with others

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have a large motorhome on the land, it has 2 double beds and a single bed for people who are coming in a couple or a group, we all share the same bathroom as i am just getting started on the main bathroom in the house but the motorhome has its own toilet and sink plus it has a kitchen. we will be buidling an outside compost toilet and shower for those who are intertested to learn

    we serve 3 meals a day 7 days a week. breakfast normally starts around 7.30, lunch about 1pm and dinner 6.30 pm

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we live in one of the most beautiful islands in the mediteranean on the serra de traumuntana mountains, there are a couple of limitations with the virus situation but we still have full run of the island from 6am until 12pm which includes many beautiful beaches, mountain walks, the main city is beautiful with many great places to visit, and we also have lots of castles and ancient buildings. there is a bus route from here to the city

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have over 9000 square meters of land so if anyone has a camper or even wants to setup a tent in the orchard between the trees in nature you are perfectly welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 785362838375