Experience life on a cattle property in SW Qld

Country

Australia

Favourited 133 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are are the ideal cattle farming family! There's mum, dad and 4 school-aged, independent children who love to swim in the dam, go fishing, build cubby houses, ride horses and motorbikes and explore our 17,000 acre farm. We love to cook, make creative things, have a nice garden, look after our pet animals and go to social events in our area. We are located 4 hours drive from Brisbane or 2 hours west of Toowoomba. We enjoy people visiting our farm and we are respectful and kind. We can also cater for any food preferences!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    During your stay, you can become immersed in our farm and social life. We treat you with kindness and respect and are genuinely interested to hear about your own country, culture and life experiences. You become ‘one of the family’. Our farm is a safe place to experience Aussie hospitality and the Australian bush. You’ll see many native animals, learn about Aussie life in the country and pick up a few skills too! You’ll get to practise English and learn plenty of cooking recipes too!

  • Help

    Help

    From time to time we would love some help with general household tasks and gardening. If you are interested and would like the experience, you can help with mustering cattle, fencing and other farm work. We are happy to have a travelling couple and have had wonderful experiences with people from the UK, Europe, Asia and the US so far!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are offering a furnished 2 bedroom cottage separate from the main homestead with air- conditioning and a large garden. Sometimes the cottage isn’t available, but we are happy for you to stay with us in our large homestead. We will provide all meals and a happy Australian farm life!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, you can explore the towns of Goondiwindi, Dalby, Millmerran and Toowoomba or just relax on the farm: read a book, go for a swim, go fishing or bike riding. Our main town is an hour drive from the farm, but we usually go there once a week for shopping. There is public transport available from major cities to our nearest town and we are happy to pick you up and drop you off from there. Having your own car will give you a little more independence, but we're happy to help out when we can to make your experience enjoyable. We look forward to meeting you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, but we are flexible.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 785221374913