Help with childcare in rural southeast Ireland

  • Ireland
  • Favourited 465 times
  • Last activity: 8 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Currently we are looking for 1 person to mainly help with child care - experience with children is a must. We live in a very rural location just over an hour south of Dublin. We are a couple (one Irish, one American) with a 10 year old son who is home schooled, 3 dogs, 2 cats and an owl, living on 1 acre in a forest. We also host German foreign exchange students during the school year, which is why we only have room available for the summer. We enjoy getting to know people from other countries. We have been hosting workawayers for a number of years and have found it to be a good experience. Unfortunately, we can only host one person at a time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have both traveled for work and pleasure, we are from different countries/cultures/backgrounds and have lived in foreign countries ourselves. We have hosted about 30 workawayers from around the world and enjoy sharing experiences, language, cooking & world views. We have also hosted 8 teenaged German exchange students who stay with us for half or the whole school year. We also have very diverse skills and are happy to share - music, fashion, woodworking, gardening, tea blending, teaching, beer brewing...

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Generally, we are looking for someone to help with minding our young son. You would be with him for 3-4 days per week, often with Colm around whilst he works in his workshop. Fionn is active, imaginative, sensitive and loves the outdoors. Colm is a brewer, musical instrument & furniture maker and drummer and Mico was a fashion designer and now works in tourism. You may also help with some housekeeping, gardening or dog walking. There will also be general bits around the house, as in any family environment. If you like a rural location, we are in a lovely spot for walks and are about 1/2 hour drive to the sea or to the mountains. We are in town a few times each week and you would often be able to go with us. There is limited local public transport, but buses (to Dublin or Wexford) are a 10 minute drive away and we are happy to drop you there. You would generally have Friday through Sunday off . We mostly cook vegetarian meals, with fish or meat as a side dish. We have veggies and meat eaters in the household.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    You would have your own room with own bathroom. We have a large house outside of a small village. Non-smoking volunteers only, please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Colm is also a drummer, so music is an important feature in our lives. We are in a very quiet, rural environment, so if you are looking for an interesting social life, you won't find it here. If you are looking for a bit of quiet and relaxation with a nice family in a beautiful part of the countryside, then you may enjoy it here. You will generally have weekends off to relax or travel as you wish.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    (max 25 hours/week) 4 days per week, 6 hours per day.

Host ref number: 785195914191

Feedback (17)



Help with gardening, homesteading and some small DIY projects along the banks of Lough Foyle, Co Donegal, Ireland
Help create a new garden for my house near Gorey, Ireland