Yoga, meditation, biking, hiking, climbing and help with the communal permaculture garden in Rhône-Alpes, France

Country

France

Favourited 201 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    5 years ago with friends I bought a 1980s farm building with some land and we split it into 3 apartments. We’ve now all pretty much finished the interior work and will be moving onto the exterior and more excitingly, the garden this summer. I’ve studied permaculture and have already been putting it into practice in the garden but each year I try to take it a step further. I’ve also found myself getting deeper into yoga and meditation practice in the last 2 years and have a vision to collaborate with others in the wide world of ‘well-being’ and permaculture to host workshops, retreats and mini-festivals here. We’ve had a few test-runs with friends already...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach some basic permaculture & building skills and share yoga/meditation sessions (I’ve not got enough experience to teach). The house is situated in a beautiful mountainous location with many hiking and biking opportunities as well as climbing and via Ferrata nearby. I have an assortment of basic bikes that can be borrowed. Morzine is the nearest biggish town (15mins drive) and much bigger Thonon Les Bains on lake leman is 30 mins drive away. There is also a bus service to both places and beyond.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a number of jobs in mind including gardening (vegetable area, grass-cutting, possible hay-making for chickens and general maintenance). Chickens are shared by all households so there will likely be a little work looking after them. We also have a project building a semi-subterranean greenhouse which we plan to start very soon. Help preparing meals, mainly evening dinner. Cleaning. Could be all or a mixture of these depending skills, interests, length of stay and time of stay.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 bedroom newly renovated ground floor apartment. You’d have your own room and would be sharing the apartment mostly just with me or possibly another work-awayer or friend (this would be discussed beforehand). All bedding/towels provided, washing machine, WiFi and all household basics. Food can be discussed based on skills, diet, interest etc. I’m mostly vegetarian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I work as a gardener so am not at the house all the time. I’m mostly social in the home and enjoy sharing meals but I also like a balance and like many people, I occasionally prefer to do my own thing, especially if I have a lot going on. Flexibility is welcomed!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    WiFi is fairly good here with use of my neighbour’s network as back-up. 4G is also OK here. I work from home digitally around 2 days a week and am out gardening for 2-3. At the weekend I’m usually in and out of the house/garden or out playing in the mountains.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    It is sloped parking so you’d need ramps. It is also not very wide so only good for smaller vehicles.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    Would need to be discussed first.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 874565225794