Help with tasks around the property and enjoy the coast in Te Horo Beach (Wellington), New Zealand

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Our names are Hans and Nienke. We are Dutch Kiwis and have been in New Zealand for almost 17 and a half years now. We live on a beautiful lifestyle block in Te Horo Beach on the Kapiti coast, about 60 km north of Wellington. We are enjoying life on the beach (swimming, walking, cycling, fishing) with the beautiful Tararua mountains (hiking) just behind us. We love a good meal, a nice wine or beer and a good conversation around the fire. We have travelled New Zealand extensively and can tell you where the most beautiful spots in NZ are. Those are not always the ones shown in books.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Benefits of staying with us: peace and quiet, sound of the waves, the most gorgeous views, use of bicycles, we could teach you ow to play mah yong. You could do some art (oamaru stone or painting, tools available), enjoy bird life, beach walks, surf casting from the beach or have a dip in the sea. We can tell/advise you a lot about walking/cycling in Kapiti and the Tararua's and if possible take you with us on walks.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always something to do here. Like gardening, helping with firewood, help painting the fence, household jobs, etc. Would be great if you could show your own cooking skills one or two nights a week as well (we'll pay for the ingredients of course). We are looking for couples/duo's. No smokers or vapers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own room and bathroom. Wireless internet is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No smokers/vapers! Having your own transport is required as there are no busses to Te Horo Beach. The railway station (train to Wellington takes an hour) is 12.5 km from our house and the highway (SH1) 5.3 km. We use the first three days of your stay as 'getting to know you' days to work out if your stay will work for us as well as for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    No problem to park a campervan or even use it, but as stated, proper beds are available.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 784124777783

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)







Fun loving family is waiting for your help in Magical Mangawhai, New Zealand
Become a part of family life in the beautiful rural town of Tapawera, New Zealand