1 / 4

Help me with cleaning and tidying while exploring the ancient city of Matera, Italy

  • Favourited 112 times
  • Last activity: 9 May 2024



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    Hi my name is Christina! im a 36 year old Canadian who purchased a home in the ancient city of Matera in Basilicata, Italy. I work as an animator but ill be off contract for some time and i'll be spending some time in Matera this summer getting the house all fixed up . I'm friendly, good humoured and easy going.

    A little bit about Matera. With a history of continuous occupation dating back to the Palaeolithic (10th millennium BC), it is renowned for its rock-cut urban core, whose twin cliffside zones are known collectively as the Sassi. In 2019, Matera was declared a European Capital of Culture. Its become a pretty hot tourist destination but nowhere near as crowded as places like Rome, Florence or Venice. You'll fall in love with it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come learn about the history of Matera and check out some cool spots nearby in Southern Italy. I can show you my favourite places and teach you a bit of Italian in the meantime. (My Italian is not quite fluent, but its pretty decent)

  • Help


    Looking for someone to come clean up a home in the ancient city of Matera, Italy.
    Tasks include dusting, cleaning the washrooms and shower, tidying up the patio and planting flowers. 2-3 hours a day during the week between the hours of 11-3 and you can enjoy the weekend to just hang out and explore the city.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    I can accommodate you with a room (possibly shared) with wifi, a bed, shower, fridge and electric stove. Meals are not included but I will share whatever I have!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Matera is a very cool city. Lots of local sights, tours, galleries and museums. Tons of bars and restaurants. I can show you some of my favourite places. It's located about an hour From the Major city Bari where you can catch a bus or train which drops you off in the city center just a 10 minute walk from my home. My place is located a hop and a skip from the Ancient city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week (15 hours/week= no food, 25 hours/week- food)

Host ref number: 783867811118

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help Us Create a Tuscan Eco Dream Paradise, Montevarchi, Italy
Restructuring projects, garden clean up and babysitting in Sicily, Italy