Help our family on our farm and enjoy unique French culture in Charente France

Country

France

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family farm based in the Charente region of France. At any one time we can be up to 8 people on the farm with a mix of ages from 10 through to 60 speaking French and English. We have veg gardens and lean towards permaculture principles.
    We have lots of different things to do on the farm and can be anything from babysitting, preparing meals, through to eco construction and everything in between.
    We have a social space on the farm which we would like to modernise. We envisage having this space for people to unwind at the end of the day and enjoy a beer, wine or smoothie time. 😁
    Close to the farm we have a swimming lake called "lac des gours" which is a really nice place to go and unwind.
    We are a really positive and fun filled group and we welcome cultural exchange. All that we ask is that you are happy and willing to give some time during you day (between 4-5 hrs) to help us with projects on the farm. In return we are happy to give you food and a warm comfortable environment to stay.

    We can accept more than one person at a time. We welcome couples and we will consider groups too. Of course it should go without saying but unfortunately it can't be said for everywhere: we are LGBTQ friendly.
    We are welcoming to friendly positive people who are open to cultural exchange.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have such a varied life on the farm.
    We are passionate about making a difference in the world and gaining skills that can lead us to be more self sufficient. We are always open to imparting what we know and welcome exchange either way to help evolve our collective understanding.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a multitude of skillsets.
    Help with childcare (Will only be on occasion), people who are happy working in the garden, weeding, pruning bushes.
    There will be light cleaning duties or cooking meals.
    We have tasks where we will be using carpentry and stonework. Any previous experience of workawayers to these tasks is welcomed, we will try to impart as best we can our knowledge and in turn each learn a little more.

    Just ask if you feel you have a skill that you can offer which us not mentioned above..

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have bedrooms with a shared bathroom/toilet. The bedrooms and toilet will most likely only be for workawayers and so if it is only you or your couple/group on the farm then the toilets and bedrooms will be for you.

    We will provide food.

    This can be a meal prepared together, meal prepared by us or a meal prepared during a workawayers hours in exchange for bed and board.

    Obviously this will be made clear in advance.

    We should be able to cater for different dietary requirements but would request that you contact us first should you have a specific diet that you follow.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned we have the lac des gours which is a lovely place to cycle to. It's less than 2 km away.
    Aside from that we can take you to local towns at the weekend. Potentially to organise a group day out.
    We would like to modernise an old social area on the farm and we would love to create that space with new workawayers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Lac des Gours at less than 2km away
Host ref number: 779124214695