Help our family with gardening in Bunovo, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/02/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello dear friends! We are a familly of three (Daniela, Delcho and little Momchil). We are also musicians and travellers though in the past year and a half we mostly spend our time in our sweet old cob house. It is situated in an almost uninhabited neighbourhood of a small village, 70km. away from the capital Sofia and 17km. from the of Kyustendil, a lovely small town with a rich market, sweet old center and hot mineral springs (and a public spa for 2 euro ;). The house is in a valley in beautiful, not very high mountain (Konyavska planina) with many forests, kanyons and enchanted places to hike :) Almost all our neighbours are friends of ours, magical people of the arts and music and the heart and soul. We are renovating our house combining natural and mainstreem materials and techniques with an emphasis on the natural ones as much as possible :) We work with clay and wood, experimenting with this and that, we have a nice organic garden full of goodies waiting to sprout, we work and do art and create, we gather and sing and enjoy the fruits of Mother Earth :)

    In the region we also have many friends so we are in the process of developing a very sweet and family-like community. We live a simple life, we cook vegetarian food using a lot of local products, we play music and read books and draw and have peaceful evenings together, sharing food and laughter, we learn from each other and from the Universe, we try to be grateful and express ourselves in the best ways, so if you feel this resonates with you, we'll be so happy to share the beauty of existence with you :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could learn (more likely we learn together :) about how to build a rocket stove with a heated bench, which is so good for living in nature (and not only) as it burns very little wood and accumulates heat for many hours, insulating a cob house using natural materials, as well as working with cob, decorating and painting with natural paints, how to plant and maintain a small scale organic garden, how to make cherry jam, laght and run with a 1,5 year old, lots of music from Bulgaria and the Balkans, expressing yourself with art and living together, sharing space and Spirit :)

  • Help

    Help

    We mostly need help for the renovation of the house, working with cob, light building works, also if you have the inspiration- some help in the yard and the garden.

  • Languages spoken

    Bulgarian: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a pretty room for guests that could host up to 2 people, so that everyone have their privacy. We also have a kitchen we all use. Our house is small but very cosy and welcoming.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The region is full of things to do, Kyustendil is small but very colourful town and the mineral water is amasing and so healing. We are surrounded by mountains, including Osogovo, which is on the border with Macedonia and is quite wild as well as vast and high (2200m.) and Rila, the highest mountain on the Balkans (almost 3000m), not to mention one of the most magical and mysterous ones :). If you feel city-sick, Sofia is an hour away by bus or hitch-hiking and the transport is every hour.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 774519855379