Double Twins family with small farm that needs renovation and maintenance in the north of Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany - we have horses, chicken a dog an da cat :)

Country

Germany

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    336

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a norwegian-german couple with 2 pairs of twins. We live on a small farm in the very north of Nordrhein-Westfalen with 4 horses, a lot of chicken, a dog and a cat. Our two girls are 4 and the boys are 2 years old. They usually are in kindergarden until about 2 o'clock.
    There is a lot of wildlife around here as well. In our forrest live grey herons and deers. Some of our medows lie in a nature reserve where you can see a lot of birds.
    Our farmbuildings were standing idle since 1995 until we started using parts of them again when the horses came. We want to prepare the farm for more boarded horses and renovate it in general. You are welcome to share your ideas with us. We want to make the farm a nice place to live and to visit for others.

    I (Svenja) am german and grew up on our farm. After school I was working and traveling in Iceland and Norway for about 4 years. I'm a physiotherapist now and while I was travelling I worked with handicapped peaple on a farm, broke in horses, was helping in the lambing season, worked on a fishing boat and later I worked as physiotherapist as well. At the moment I am a fulltime-mother and will start to work as a saddle fitter for horses.
    Reier (my husband) is from Lakselv, a little place in the very north of Northern Norway and came to Germany with me. We talk norwegian to each other and our mother languages to the children.
    Lea is a friend who ownes one of the horses. She is living in her trailer home on the farm ground. She is doing all the horse related work and does some dog sitting.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can enjoy nature by foot, bike, or depending on your riding skills you can explore the nature on horseback, but I don't have the time or the fitting horses for teaching beginners.
    You can spent time with the children if you like, with the animals or with other workawayers.
    Things you can learn (beside the workawayer tasks): making jam, juice or sirup, baking bread (yeast or sourdough), some kinds of food fermentation (sauerkraut, soda, joghurt). I'm not doing that all the time, but if you are interested: feel free to ask.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with the kids, animals, housework, garden and some renovating. There is always work to do inside as well as outside. If you tell us what you are good at, we will probably find something that suits you.

    Current projects are:
    - build simple gates and some fences
    - general maintenance
    - renovate a separat shower and toilet in the farm building
    - renovate kids room


    - every day tasks like
    --- babysitting
    --- housework
    --- lawn mowing
    --- feeding animals
    - ...

    We want to get as self-supported as possible with vegetables and fruits in future. We also want to prepare for boardes horses and get rid of old stuff that's occupying space. That, beside everyday tasks, is what we'll need your help for.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, norwegian, english, icelandic, our children grow up with both norwegian and german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a room on your own in our main house for now. We have an extra room with a stove where smoking and "louder evening activities" are allowed, since it it is in the old and mostly unused farm house. If you prefer to have a campfire and sleep under the open sky or in a tent, there is a place for that as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Unfortunately we don't have direkt access to puplic transportation. The next train station is about 15km away and the next busstop 7km. For arrival and departure it is usually no problem to give you a lift. In the meantime you can borrow a bike to get to the busstop. The next bigger town is Osnabrück (25km from here) where you can go to concerts, cinema or whatever you like.
    If you have a drivers licence you can certainly borrow a car sometimes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Lea with Sofi, Nils and our dog Branka
Our Kids exploring water with Leas caravan in the background
The view from our bathroom. These live in our woods.
Sofi
The old cow shed.
Sofi playing guitar with her dad (Reier)
You're never to young to go horseback riding! :) In the backround you see out farm and our woods.
Reier and the horses on the way back home from the meadow






Host ref number: 774396853762