Farming help needed in rural Extremadura - Spain's secret paradise!

Country

Spain

Favourited 102 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Steve and Jane, a retired British couple and we have left the rat race behind to live a more meaningful life here in rural Spain. We have a 7 acre olive and fig farm. 2 km from a nearby village. We have mains electricity but solar water heating and eco friendly septic tank. The casita (little house) which is our volunteer accommodation is totally solar powered. We try to live as planet friendly as possible. We grow vegetables and some fruit. We sell our figs and olives to the local co op. We have plans!! More fruit trees, more unusual veg, cotton!! Jane spins our own organic cotton and also turning the local sheep into yarn for knitting. So much work here but hey, we are retired so we do try to find a nice work rest and play balance!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The local area is rich in history from Romans through medieval times but volunteers should have their own transport to take full advantage of this. The locals only speak Spanish. We are happy to pass on our skills in farming, gardening, cooking, bread making using traditional pizza oven and working with wool - spinning.

  • Help

    Help

    The rest of the year you could be doing anything from grass cutting, general gardening, digging, weeding etc. Landscaping - rock removal, clearing ground for planting. Building and maintenance - path creation, general repairs. Tree maintenance - removal of suckers, pruning, clearing of thickets.

    In 2019 we are looking for builders and people with experience with bricks and mortar. Plans are in progress for a wood shed, a fire pit and a duck pond!

    Every year I need help with Preparation of sheep fleece for spinning - washing, picking, carding/combing. Fruit bottling, making preserves, canning. All jobs depend upon the season and training will be given. Protective clothing (goggles if required) will be provided but we ask volunteers to bring their own gloves and hats and appropriate footwear.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained, private and separate casita. One bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. All modern amenities provided. This accommodation is what we rent out to holiday guests when we don't have Volunteers so although small, the standard is high.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local buses are not reliable although once you get to the city there is a good and frequent bus service to Madrid. The wildlife, especially the birds are abundant and the wildflowers in spring are phenomenal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours daily 5 days a week.






Host ref number: 773997299434