We're looking for some help with daily life and DIY in our house of the French Pyrénées

Country

France

Favourited 105 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, Laurent and Nathalie, both between 56 and 60 and our 3 daughters (Naomi 26 yo, Tess and June 21 yo) live in Les Cabannes in Ariège, in the french Pyrénées.
    We live with mountains, rivers, trails and caves all around. Nice views and landscapes, good fresh air and meeting farmers with good products and plenty other people involved in a good way of living are our day-routine!

    We're looking for some help to run our three level-house (cleaning, cooking, cats care...) but mostly for meeting new people from all around the world ! Our twins daughters love cooking and learning new recipes from others cultures. Also, we could practice our English and learn new languages ! We used to travel but a little bit less now because of the work.

    Apart from these few daily tasks, all the rest of the time is yours. You can visit, do activities or work on your projects if you wish.
    We will be happy to show you around !

    In winter you can go skiing (the slopes are 20 minutes away), sledging on the Beille plateau, snowshoeing by day or night, sledding with nordic dogs and bathing at the thermal baths.
    During the cold weather it's also the occasion to taste typical French dishes like la raclette or la fondue!
    In summer you can go hiking, sleeping in shelters, swimming in the lakes and rivers, kayaking, climbing, visiting the caves ... (Some of these activities are free, others can be paid for at your expense.)

    We run a farm store and are associated with a very good restaurant in the village. You will have access to a wide range of farm products. At our place, we eat good and local !
    Also, if you're interested in our work, you can follow us working if you like.

    If the mountains are not enough for you, we live about 1 hour from the city of Toulouse by car and 1h30 by train. It is a beautiful southern city, culturally rich and full of activity. Our twins often go there to meet friends, to party, to go to the movies, to the bar or to the restaurant.
    We are about an hour away from the Andorran and Spanish border.

    We offer you a single room on the top floor with a bathroom. As our oldest daughter is in a transition period, it is possible for her to be at home during the time of your visit and share the bathroom with you.
    You will have access to the common kitchen and share meals with us (or not if you don't feel like it sometimes).
    We have a large living room where we like to meet to read, play games, draw, write, create. We also have a video game console.

    !! I hope you like cats and that you are not allergic to them because we have 3 cats (Bouli, Lulu and Ruanita). Feeding them and cleaning their litter boxes can be part of your duties. But no worries, they are very cute and cuddly !!

    CAUTION : We do not offer any remuneration. It is your help in exchange for room and board.

    We are waiting for you !!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    exchanges in french if wanted, visit the area, hike in the mountain, live the life in a village of mountain, meet people from the village, friends and tourists

  • Help

    Help

    We just need daily help with household chores (cleaning the floor, kitchen, bathroom, cat corners; cooking home meals; maintaining the fire etc...).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room
    Shared bathroom (it depends).
    Shared kitchen

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like to hike, many trails to explore and tops to reach .... If you like fishing or kayaking, many rivers around, people to meet...
    Bus, train and our car available

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 heures par jour max, 4 j/sem.



Host ref number: 773994975928