Welcome to join us in the restoration of an old estate and vineyards in Aquitaine, France

Country

France

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family that has mixed various traditions of diverse countries very different from each other. I'm Olya, I'm from Kazakhstan. Before moving to France I lived in Russia for 20 years. My husband is French with Spanish roots and strong Spanish family traditions. He spends his life in two countries that are both native to him. We met at a construction project in the Arctic on the Yamal half-island. After the polar climate we decided to stay in sunny warm Southern France where we got married and bought a house. The house is very old and requires effort and money investment . That’s why, we call for volunteers’ help. We are very open young people, cheerful, active and enterprising. We are interested in creating something new, realizing our dreams. We are not at a stop, undulging in vain hopes, in order to have something to start with. We start and do, value the happiness of everyday life with its everyday sunrise. We are people of different cultures and nations, but we are in the same passion to the life itself and are not indifferent to the environment. Aclean product is important for us. The main idea of our construction is its environmental friendliness: natural materials and organic farming. We want to keep our piece of land clean and healthy for ourselves and our children.
    We have a daughter, she is 9 years old. She is a very sociable girl. She can tell you poems or sing songs even at the first meeting. She will entertain you with her games and conversations. Sometimes she is called “radio” because she can talk for hours about everything nonstop. That's why we don't buy a TV. We also have got a dog called Osaka. It is 1 year old, it is a Golden Retriever. It loves people, likes to play, but most of all it adores to swim and dive into the water.
    We don't smoke.
    We speak English, French and Russian at home. I'm still learning French, so I don't speak it very well, and my husband knows Spanish as a second native language.
    My husband works as a construction manager, so we know what to do. I am a former chief accountant, and now I devote time to the development of some creative work. I paint in oils and create ceramics using a potter's wheel. If you are fond of pottery and painting, there are tools for these hobbies and you can spend your time with great pleasure. My husband is fond of brewing. And if you are interested in this topic, you can take part and enjoy home beer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer a warm and friendly welcome in the most beautiful region of France. You can live the life of the Frenchmen, taste the cuisine and wine. If you are interested in creativity, then I have everything you need to paint and create ceramics (Potter's wheel and kiln). Thomas is a qualified specialist in construction. He can share his practical skills. Before this house we have already launched two tourist projects and now continue to master our experience in a private construction.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in cleaning the area from thickets - almost 17 hectares of land. First of all, we will start with the construction of a two-storeyed house - it will require strong men's hands to the stone and brick laying. We will provide you with gloves and protective equipment. You will need to have your own working clothes and shoes. The tasks are not easy and difficult, so think about it. It is a collective help and you won’t be able to have a rest onsite because the plan has been made according to the schedule and time of material procurement. We also invite a girl or a woman to study school subjects with our daughter. Since we moved here and changed school and language, she needs to catch up Math. My daughter speaks both Russian and French. That is why, we will be glad to see Russian-speaking or French-speaking people with pedagogical abilities and sufficient patience when working with children.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, Russian, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are repairing the bedroom now. It will be one for all volunteers. Another room is for our family.There is not much space inside. The rooms are fitted with a shared bathroom. We plan to put two single beds and expect to receive not more than two people at a time. It'll be like a hostel. If you like tents, you are welcome to put them- there is a lot of space outdoors. Cooking meals is in a shared kitchen. We are not vegetarians and hardly have time to cook separate food, but if you want to cook for yourself separately, we do not mind

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located 40 km from Bordeaux. Our house is situated in a small town in the wine region. The nearest store is very far away and we go by car there. We have bicycles for the walks in the neighbourhoods. And for the farther distance you will need to travel by public transport. Or we can drive you somewhere by car, if it is on our way and not very far. From time to time we go to Arcachon on business. You can accompany us, and while we are busy you can enjoy the ocean coast and oysters

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 773956357254