Help with sled dogs and house keeping in Vestre Gausdal, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 93 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of tree. Astrid 40, Inge 43 and Iver 6 years old. We have 20 sled dogs, 15 hens and a rooster and two cats. Our smallholding is situated in a rural, farming area, high up in the valley side in Vestre Gausdal, Norway, near Gudbrandsdalen. Our son goes to kinder garden, Astrid works full time outside Gausdal while Inge is working partly outside and taking care of animals and Iver.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They could learn about Norwegian life here in Gudbrandsdalen. They can experience farm life and enjoy fishing and hiking in the mountains, They can learn about sled dogs and how to care for them. The ones who come here in the winter time can go on dog sleds in the mountains. They can also participate on sled dogs races. They can go skiing.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help from june!

    We need help with a lot of things on our smallholding in Gausdal, Norway: Mostly its feeding and care for the animals, general maintenance, house keeping and house sitting our place.


    We need responsable adults that are practical oriented and used to hard physical work. After August, if you are interested and able, you have the opportunity to run a dog team of 6-8 dogs on your own after a couple of weeks together with Inge, supervised by him.

    We would prefer longer stays.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In a cabin close (10 meters) by the main house. The toilet and and bathroom are in main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off can be used trekking or skiing in the mountains, experience Lillehammer - our nearest town, Lillehammer, with museums and cinema, cafes, restaurants.

    The days have approximatly 5 hours of work, and the rest of the time is free time. We expect the volunteers to help with preparing food and clearing off table (and keep their own room/cabin tidy). We also expect that we all help out in keeping the house reasonably clean (this means minimum of vacuum the living room once a week and clean bathroom once a week). Weekends are free time. volunteers can choose to join the family in their activities, spend time in the mountain, spend time hiking, visit the city of Lillehammer (or Oslo), visit other volunteers in the area. We can offer rides to the bus and pickup from bus station.

    It is important to know that our place is far from shops and other activities. It is around 10 km to the nearest food store.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 769654179319